Options

How hard to find a job with CCNA under the current economic situation?

tearofstearofs Member Posts: 112
Hello

This is Kevin from Boston.

I have a finance degree (oops), and have been working in CVS since I graduated 1.5 years ago. I original started as an assistant store manager, then stepped down to become a pharmacy technician cuz I hate the 1st one so much.

Currently I am pursuing an IT career. I got A+ and Network+ last year. ICND1 was also down last week, which means I am half way to CCNA. Now, I want to know how hard to find a job (I will take any IT job) with CCNA under the current economic situation (I have been sending out resumes since I got my Network+, and no luck at all).

My long-term plan after CCNA is going for MCP + MCSE, then come back for CCNP. Anyway, I need some advices from you guys, or any thoughts you have. Thank you very much.

Comments

• Options
    jeanathanjeanathan Member Posts: 163
    I feel your pain Kevin, I live a couple of hours west of Washington DC. I have a degree in computer science and a CCNA, but except for Basic help desk support and CCNP level stuff there have not been any postings in months for Junior cisco people.
    Struggling through the re-certification process after 2 years of no OJT for the CCNP.
  • Options
    white96gtwhite96gt Member Posts: 26 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If you have no experience in the IT industry then it is going make it even harder to land a job. Before you start loading up on certs I would try to find any job in IT. Even if you have to volunteer to get that experience. I think many people who jump to IT believe all you need is certs and you will be making $$.
  • Options
    sambuca69sambuca69 Member Posts: 262
    tearofs wrote: »
    Hello

This is Kevin from Boston.