Found out i'm getting paid much lower than my co-workers

Dryst999Dryst999 Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
So i'm a fresh graduate with my BBA in M.I.S. I took a help desk job with a small healthcare IT firm (Around 50 employees). The problem is I screwed myself with the salary for the starting offer, in my first interview with the company I was told that it was an hourly position and the operations officer eluded to the fact that there would be plenty of overtime available. When he asked me for my salary requirements I told him they were negotiable like 3 times trying to avoid the question b/c I wasn't prepared for it... salary questions always come in final interviews for my past jobs. Finally after him not moving on until I answered him I told him I could work with at least $10/hr with overtime included. I know I screwed myself but I figured 45+ hours a week at this rate would net me at least 30k which would be plenty for me since my city is very low cost of living. Again I wasn't prepared to answer that question at all.

The job offer comes in after 2 more interviews and apparently since my first interview through final interview the help desk positions had been changed from hourly to salary and guess what my offer was, 21k/yr. That's $10/hr for a 40hr week. I was pretty upset with this offer, I tried to negotiate to the mid 20's minimum and told him that I was under the impression about it being hourly with overtime etc which was why my number was so low. My negotiation was met with "It's an entry level job and that's what we have budgeted for the position at this time, we do salary adjustments after 90 days". Me being an easy impressionable fresh grad I decided to take the job anyway for the experience since I didn't want to push the salary anymore b/c I know for a fact that they got over 100 applicants for my position.