1760 + VIC-2FXO issue

I have a 1760 that I am trying to get set up as one of my voice routers and I cannot get it to recoginize my FXO card(s) Below is the output from the most recent boot.


Smart Init is enabled
smart init is sizing iomem
ID MEMORY_REQ TYPE
MainBoard 0X00027A80 1760
0X000F3BB0 public buffer pools
0X00211000 public particle pools
0X0003B100 DSP Buffers
0X0012 0X0001B800 Card in slot 0
0X0002 0X0000DC00 Card in slot 1
0X000D 0X00000000 Card in slot 2 (This is where the FXO card lives)
TOTAL: 0X00390B30
!output cut

cisco 1760 (MPC860P) processor (revision 0x200) with 81920K/16384K bytes of memory.
Processor board ID FOC063700N5 (942747471), with hardware revision BB67
MPC860P processor: part number 5, mask 2
Bridging software.
X.25 software, Version 3.0.0.
1 FastEthernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
3 Serial(sync/async) network interface(s)
32K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.
32768K bytes of processor board System flash (Read/Write)

I have tried different IOS versions, 4 different VIC-2FXO modules and 2 different DSP modules. What am I missing?

John
John
Current Progress:
Studying:
CCNA Security - 60%, CCNA Wireless - 80%, ROUTE - 10% (Way behind due to major Wireless Project)
Exams Passed:
CCNA - 640-802 - 17 Jan 2011 -- CVOICE v6 - 642-436 - 28 Feb 2011
2011 Goals
CCNP/CCNP:Voice

Comments

  • mikem2temikem2te Posts: 407Member
    What version IOS are you using? Can you post the resultls of a 'show ver'?
    Blog : http://www.caerffili.co.uk/

    Previous : Passed Configuring Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 (70-630)
    Currently : EIGRP & OSPF
    Next : CCNP Route
  • mikem2temikem2te Posts: 407Member
    Also try a 'show diag' to see if the hardware is registering properly. This is shat I see on mine for the dsp-
    Packet Voice DSP Module Slot 0:
            Hardware Revision        : 3.2
            Part Number              : 73-6728-01
            Board Revision           : A0
            Deviation Number         : 0-0
            Fab Version              : 03
            PCB Serial Number        : VIC084154AL
            RMA Test History         : 00
            RMA Number               : 0-0-0-0
            RMA History              : 00
            Processor type           : 02
            Number of DSP's          : 3
            DSP memory size(in kwords): 256
            Type of DSP              : TMS320C549
            Product (FRU) Number     : PVDM-256K-12=
            EEPROM format version 4
            EEPROM contents (hex):
            0x00:   04 FF 40 02 AE 41 03 02 82 49 1A 48 01 42 41 30
            0x10:   80 00 00 00 00 02 03 C1 8B 56 49 43 30 38 34 31
            0x20:   35 34 41 4C 03 00 81 00 00 00 00 04 00 09 02 FF
    
    And the bit for my FXS
    VIC Slot 2:
            Dual FXS Voice Interface Card
            Hardware revision 1.1   Board revision F0
            Serial number     0014662802    Part number    800-02493-01
            FRU Part Number   VIC-2FXS=
    
            Test history      0x00          RMA number     00-00-00
            Connector type    WAN Module
            EEPROM format version 1
            EEPROM contents (hex):
            0x20:   01 0E 01 01 00 DF BC 92 50 09 BD 01 00 00 00 00
            0x30:   78 00 00 00 99 07 01 01 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    
    Blog : http://www.caerffili.co.uk/

    Previous : Passed Configuring Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 (70-630)
    Currently : EIGRP & OSPF
    Next : CCNP Route
  • hermeszdatahermeszdata Posts: 225Member
    mikem2te wrote: »
    Also try a 'show diag' to see if the hardware is registering properly. This is shat I see on mine for the dsp-
    Packet Voice DSP Module Slot 0:
            Hardware Revision        : 3.2
            Part Number              : 73-6728-01
            Board Revision           : A0
            Deviation Number         : 0-0
            Fab Version              : 03
            PCB Serial Number        : VIC084154AL
            RMA Test History         : 00
            RMA Number               : 0-0-0-0
            RMA History              : 00
            Processor type           : 02
            Number of DSP's          : 3
            DSP memory size(in kwords): 256
            Type of DSP              : TMS320C549
            Product (FRU) Number     : PVDM-256K-12=
            EEPROM format version 4
            EEPROM contents (hex):
            0x00:   04 FF 40 02 AE 41 03 02 82 49 1A 48 01 42 41 30
            0x10:   80 00 00 00 00 02 03 C1 8B 56 49 43 30 38 34 31
            0x20:   35 34 41 4C 03 00 81 00 00 00 00 04 00 09 02 FF
    
    And the bit for my FXS
    VIC Slot 2:
            Dual FXS Voice Interface Card
            Hardware revision 1.1   Board revision F0
            Serial number     0014662802    Part number    800-02493-01
            FRU Part Number   VIC-2FXS=
     
            Test history      0x00          RMA number     00-00-00
            Connector type    WAN Module
            EEPROM format version 1
            EEPROM contents (hex):
            0x20:   01 0E 01 01 00 DF BC 92 50 09 BD 01 00 00 00 00
            0x30:   78 00 00 00 99 07 01 01 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    

    MIke,

    As I stated above, the module does not show up.

    1760_Test#sh diag
    Slot 0:
    C1760 1FE VE 4SLOT DV Mainboard Port adapter, 4 ports
    Port adapter is analyzed
    Port adapter insertion time unknown
    EEPROM contents at hardware discovery:
    Hardware Revision : 2.0
    PCB Serial Number : FOC063700N5
    Part Number : 73-7167-02
    Board Revision : C0
    Deviation Number : 0-47975
    Fab Version : 04
    Product (FRU) Number : CISCO1760
    EEPROM format version 4
    EEPROM contents (hex):
    0x00: 04 FF 40 03 16 41 02 00 C1 8B 46 4F 43 30 36 33
    0x10: 37 30 30 4E 35 82 49 1B FF 02 42 43 30 80 00 00
    0x20: BB 67 02 04 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    0x30: FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    0x40: FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    0x50: FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    0x60: FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    0x70: FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    WIC/VIC Slot 0:
    Serial 2T (12in1)
    Hardware revision 1.0 Board revision J0
    Serial number 0030108341 Part number 800-03181-01
    FRU Part Number WIC-2T=
    Test history 0x00 RMA number 00-00-00
    Connector type PCI
    EEPROM format version 1
    EEPROM contents (hex):
    0x20: 01 12 01 00 01 CB 6A B5 50 0C 6D 01 00 00 00 00
    0x30: 98 00 00 00 03 03 06 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    WIC/VIC Slot 1:
    Serial 1T
    Hardware revision 1.0 Board revision B0
    Serial number 0035345939 Part number 800-01514-02
    FRU Part Number WIC-1T=
    Test history 0x00 RMA number 00-00-00
    Connector type WAN Module
    EEPROM format version 1
    EEPROM contents (hex):
    0x20: 01 02 01 00 02 1B 56 13 50 05 EA 02 00 00 00 00
    0x30: 58 00 00 00 06 10 29 01 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    1760_Test#

    This is why I am confused. The router shows that slot2 is populated in smart init, but it does not show as a recognized module in the remainder of the boot process or in the sh diag.

    John

    John
    John
    Current Progress:
    Studying:
    CCNA Security - 60%, CCNA Wireless - 80%, ROUTE - 10% (Way behind due to major Wireless Project)
    Exams Passed:
    CCNA - 640-802 - 17 Jan 2011 -- CVOICE v6 - 642-436 - 28 Feb 2011
    2011 Goals
    CCNP/CCNP:Voice
  • mikem2temikem2te Posts: 407Member
    Hmmm. Only things I can think of off the top of my head is the IOS version you are running is not voice enabled or there are no DSP resources installed
    Blog : http://www.caerffili.co.uk/

    Previous : Passed Configuring Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 (70-630)
    Currently : EIGRP & OSPF
    Next : CCNP Route
  • hermeszdatahermeszdata Posts: 225Member
    mikem2te wrote: »
    What version IOS are you using? Can you post the resultls of a 'show ver'?

    I have tried 3 different IOS.

    c1700-k9sy7-mz.122-13.ZF.bin
    c1700-y-mz.123-13.bin
    c1700-ipbase-mz.123-15b

    I have a 4th, c1700-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T11, but it requires at least 140MB DRAM to run so it will not run on this router (this one maxs @ 96/32.)

    The three that I have that will run apparently do not support telephony service. Any ideas where I can find an IOS that supports telephony and will run on in 96d/32f?

    John
    John
    Current Progress:
    Studying:
    CCNA Security - 60%, CCNA Wireless - 80%, ROUTE - 10% (Way behind due to major Wireless Project)
    Exams Passed:
    CCNA - 640-802 - 17 Jan 2011 -- CVOICE v6 - 642-436 - 28 Feb 2011
    2011 Goals
    CCNP/CCNP:Voice
  • mikem2temikem2te Posts: 407Member
    I have tried 3 different IOS.

    c1700-k9sy7-mz.122-13.ZF.bin
    c1700-y-mz.123-13.bin
    c1700-ipbase-mz.123-15b

    I have a 4th, c1700-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T11, but it requires at least 140MB DRAM to run so it will not run on this router (this one maxs @ 96/32.)

    The three that I have that will run apparently do not support telephony service. Any ideas where I can find an IOS that supports telephony and will run on in 96d/32f?

    John
    That will be the problem then. If you haven't found it yet, a useful internet page is the "Cisco Feature Navigator", http://tools.cisco.com/ITDIT/CFN/ it allows searching all IOS variants by platform to see what they include and what memory is required to run them. You'd need something like an IP Voice feature set.

    Officially the only way to get an IOS image is by having a smartnet contract with cisco, unofficially on the other hand ......
    Blog : http://www.caerffili.co.uk/

    Previous : Passed Configuring Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 (70-630)
    Currently : EIGRP & OSPF
    Next : CCNP Route
  • laidbackfreaklaidbackfreak Posts: 991Member
    mikem2te wrote: »
    That will be the problem then. If you haven't found it yet, a useful internet page is the "Cisco Feature Navigator", Cisco Feature Navigator - Cisco Systems it allows searching all IOS variants by platform to see what they include and what memory is required to run them. You'd need something like an IP Voice feature set.

    +1 I was just getting the url lol
    if I say something that can be taken one of two ways and one of them offends, I usually mean the other one :-)
  • hermeszdatahermeszdata Posts: 225Member
    mikem2te wrote: »
    That will be the problem then. If you haven't found it yet, a useful internet page is the "Cisco Feature Navigator", Cisco Feature Navigator - Cisco Systems it allows searching all IOS variants by platform to see what they include and what memory is required to run them. You'd need something like an IP Voice feature set.

    Officially the only way to get an IOS image is by having a smartnet contract with cisco, unofficially on the other hand ......

    I had looked at that some time ago as well as the specs for the 1760. I thought one of the 3 mentioned IOS versions supported telephony, but I have been "playing' with so many versions on different routers I lost track.

    An interesting note on my porblem, according to the "experts" my router was max'ed with memory @ 96 and 32. But, I just plugged in an extra 128MB DRAM module I had waiting to go into one of my 26**XM routers and it was recognized by the 1760 giving me 160MB DRAM and my c1700-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T11 now loads and my FXO ports are now there.

    1760_Test>sh ver
    Cisco IOS Software, C1700 Software (C1700-ADVENTERPRISEK9-M), Version 12.4(15)T11, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc2)
    Technical Support: Cisco - Shortcut
    Copyright (c) 1986-2009 by Cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Thu 29-Oct-09 08:47 by prod_rel_team
    ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.2(4r)XL, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    1760_Test uptime is 9 minutes
    System returned to ROM by power-on
    System image file is "flash:c1700-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T11.bin"

    This product contains cryptographic features and is subject to United
    States and local country laws governing import, export, transfer and
    use. Delivery of Cisco cryptographic products does not imply
    third-party authority to import, export, distribute or use encryption.
    Importers, exporters, distributors and users are responsible for
    compliance with U.S. and local country laws. By using this product you
    agree to comply with applicable laws and regulations. If you are unable
    to comply with U.S. and local laws, return this product immediately.
    A summary of U.S. laws governing Cisco cryptographic products may be found at:
    Export Compliance Product Report Application

    If you require further assistance please contact us by sending email to
    [email protected].
    Cisco 1760 (MPC860P) processor (revision 0x200) with 131072K/16384K bytes of memory.
    Processor board ID FOC063700N5 (942747471), with hardware revision BB67
    MPC860P processor: part number 5, mask 2
    1 FastEthernet interface
    3 Serial(sync/async) interfaces
    2 Voice FXO interfaces
    32K bytes of NVRAM.
    32768K bytes of processor board System flash (Read/Write)
    Configuration register is 0x2101
    1760_Test>

    Maybe the boot version I have is different than what the "experts" based their statements on.

    Just a little point of interest for those playing the same way.

    Life is now much better!

    John
    John
    Current Progress:
    Studying:
    CCNA Security - 60%, CCNA Wireless - 80%, ROUTE - 10% (Way behind due to major Wireless Project)
    Exams Passed:
    CCNA - 640-802 - 17 Jan 2011 -- CVOICE v6 - 642-436 - 28 Feb 2011
    2011 Goals
    CCNP/CCNP:Voice
  • tierstentiersten Posts: 4,505Member
    An interesting note on my porblem, according to the "experts" my router was max'ed with memory @ 96 and 32. But, I just plugged in an extra 128MB DRAM module I had waiting to go into one of my 26**XM routers and it was recognized by the 1760 giving me 160MB DRAM and my c1700-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T11 now loads and my FXO ports are now there.
    1760 routers made after Aug 2003 were upgraded to allow for 160MB total. Earlier models only supported 96MB in total. There should be a black rectangle above the ethernet socket and 32F in white lettering for the version that supports 160MB in total.
  • tierstentiersten Posts: 4,505Member
    c1700-k9sy7-mz.122-13.ZF.bin
    IP/ADSL Plus with Crypto (3DES)
    c1700-y-mz.123-13.bin
    IP Plus
    c1700-ipbase-mz.123-15b
    IP Base
    c1700-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T11
    Everything including crypto
  • hermeszdatahermeszdata Posts: 225Member
    tiersten wrote: »
    1760 routers made after Aug 2003 were upgraded to allow for 160MB total. Earlier models only supported 96MB in total. There should be a black rectangle above the ethernet socket and 32F in white lettering for the version that supports 160MB in total.

    The newer routers have an onboard memory config of 64D/32F. My router does not have the [32F] indicator on the face. it has a base config of 32D/16F.

    I had a similar thing on my 2620 and 2621 where the boot ROM they came with allowed me to upgrade the flash to 32MB without doing anything else. I am guessing that the 1760 I have has the same type of situation as the 262*(non-XM) routers I mentioned above. It is possible my 1760 was a "transitional" router having the same boot ROM and the newer [32F] models.

    John
    John
    Current Progress:
    Studying:
    CCNA Security - 60%, CCNA Wireless - 80%, ROUTE - 10% (Way behind due to major Wireless Project)
    Exams Passed:
    CCNA - 640-802 - 17 Jan 2011 -- CVOICE v6 - 642-436 - 28 Feb 2011
    2011 Goals
    CCNP/CCNP:Voice
  • tierstentiersten Posts: 4,505Member
    The newer routers have an onboard memory config of 64D/32F. My router does not have the [32F] indicator on the face. it has a base config of 32D/16F.
    Strange then. I guess its as you said and one that is just between the old and new versions. Don't argue too much anyway. You've got a better router than you thought :)
  • hermeszdatahermeszdata Posts: 225Member
    tiersten wrote: »
    Strange then. I guess its as you said and one that is just between the old and new versions. Don't argue too much anyway. You've got a better router than you thought :)
    No argument here mate. It's all a learning experience!
    John
    Current Progress:
    Studying:
    CCNA Security - 60%, CCNA Wireless - 80%, ROUTE - 10% (Way behind due to major Wireless Project)
    Exams Passed:
    CCNA - 640-802 - 17 Jan 2011 -- CVOICE v6 - 642-436 - 28 Feb 2011
    2011 Goals
    CCNP/CCNP:Voice
  • alxxalxx Posts: 755Member
    I've got one of the older 1760's but getting the same as hermeszdata.

    The date stamp/label inside is Jul 2003.

    128MB dimm in it and a 32MB flash simm (extra flash isn't showing up though).

    Any suggestions for trying to get it to see the 32MB flash simm ?
    Maybe a more recent ios ?

    Thanks
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • alxxalxx Posts: 755Member
    slightly newer ios didn't help

    Its still seeing only 32MB of flash
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • alxxalxx Posts: 755Member
    No change even with a more recent ios c1700-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T14.bin

    I'll try a different flash simm.

    R12#sh ver
    Cisco IOS Software, C1700 Software (C1700-ADVENTERPRISEK9-M), Version 12.4(15)T14, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc2)
    Technical Support: Support and Documentation - Cisco Systems
    Copyright (c) 1986-2010 by Cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Tue 17-Aug-10 19:13 by prod_rel_team

    ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.2(4r)XL, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

    R12 uptime is 1 hour, 23 minutes
    System returned to ROM by reload
    System image file is "flash:c1700-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T14.bin"


    This product contains cryptographic features and is subject to United
    States and local country laws governing import, export, transfer and
    use. Delivery of Cisco cryptographic products does not imply
    third-party authority to import, export, distribute or use encryption.
    Importers, exporters, distributors and users are responsible for
    compliance with U.S. and local country laws. By using this product you
    agree to comply with applicable laws and regulations. If you are unable
    to comply with U.S. and local laws, return this product immediately.

    A summary of U.S. laws governing Cisco cryptographic products may be found at:
    Export Compliance Product Report Application

    If you require further assistance please contact us by sending email to
    [email protected].

    Cisco 1760 (MPC860P) processor (revision 0x200) with 131072K/16384K bytes of memory.
    Processor board ID FOC07151HV6 (2320584341), with hardware revision BB67
    MPC860P processor: part number 5, mask 2
    1 FastEthernet interface
    1 Serial(sync/async) interface
    32K bytes of NVRAM.
    32768K bytes of processor board System flash (Read/Write)

    Configuration register is 0x2102
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • alxxalxx Posts: 755Member
    interesting if I pull the flash simm on boot it gives the following error, so it must see the flash

    System Bootstrap, Version 12.2(4r)XL, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    TAC Support: Support and Documentation
    Copyright (c) 2001 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    C1700 platform with 163840 Kbytes of main memory

    lseek out of bounds
    getdirent: lseek error
    boot: cannot determine first file name on device "flash:"

    put the simm back in and it boots fine.

    Same with the other simm after loading the image to it.

    herhermeszdata you haven't tried a 64MB flash in yours to see if it'll work ?
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • alxxalxx Posts: 755Member
    I plugged in a 32MB flash module and 128MB ram to my other 1760

    R11>sh ver
    Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
    IOS (tm) C1700 Software (C1700-K9O3SY7-M), Version 12.2(11)T9, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    TAC Support: Support and Documentation
    Copyright (c) 1986-2003 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Sat 21-Jun-03 03:37 by cmong
    Image text-base: 0x80008124, data-base: 0x80D52AEC

    ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.2(4r)XL, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

    R11 uptime is 1 minute
    System returned to ROM by power-on
    System image file is "flash:c1700-k9o3sy7-mz.122-11.T9.bin"

    cisco 1760 (MPC860P) processor (revision 0x200) with 147456K/16384K bytes of memory.
    Processor board ID VMS06220V8K (564664447), with hardware revision BB67
    MPC860P processor: part number 5, mask 2
    Bridging software.
    X.25 software, Version 3.0.0.
    1 FastEthernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
    1 ATM network interface(s)
    32K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.
    49152K bytes of processor board System flash (Read/Write)

    Configuration register is 0x2102

    date on this one is May 2002.

    At least it reads the 128MB dimm as well and I know the simm is good.
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • hermeszdatahermeszdata Posts: 225Member
    alxx wrote: »
    interesting if I pull the flash simm on boot it gives the following error, so it must see the flash

    System Bootstrap, Version 12.2(4r)XL, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    TAC Support: Support and Documentation
    Copyright (c) 2001 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    C1700 platform with 163840 Kbytes of main memory

    lseek out of bounds
    getdirent: lseek error
    boot: cannot determine first file name on device "flash:"

    put the simm back in and it boots fine.

    Same with the other simm after loading the image to it.

    herhermeszdata you haven't tried a 64MB flash in yours to see if it'll work ?

    Sorry for the delay. Been working outside the Cert Syndrome for a couple of months.

    The 1760s only support 16M and 32M flash modules.

    My 1760s are now out of the rack and sitting waiting to be sold along with a bunch of other routers and switches I no longer need.
    John
    Current Progress:
    Studying:
    CCNA Security - 60%, CCNA Wireless - 80%, ROUTE - 10% (Way behind due to major Wireless Project)
    Exams Passed:
    CCNA - 640-802 - 17 Jan 2011 -- CVOICE v6 - 642-436 - 28 Feb 2011
    2011 Goals
    CCNP/CCNP:Voice
Sign In or Register to comment.