Another home PC died...

KaminskyKaminsky Member Posts: 1,235
It's soooo annoying what you lose when this happens...

What I am most annoyed about is the last 4 years of photos of our 3 kids and our last years wedding photos all gone. There is a downside to digital photography. GAH !!!

The mrs is well pi$$ed that the only thing I had backed up is my entire 5 dvd Cisco directory so I could put it on the work laptop. [it is quite amazing just how much certification cr@p you end up collecting online over the years of study and never get around to actually reading and then even when you do actually read it, you don't delete it]

I used to be a pc support manager for about 6 years in a 8500+ user hospital trust but these days I really, really, REALLY detest messing about with PCs and components. So much so, this will be my 4th dead PC I have laying about the house waiting to be repaired. Guess I should stop being such a lazy git and recomponent them all and get them all going again... GDI !!!!! Kids are old enough to have their own PCs now as long as I feed them through the Nokia 360 I pulled out of the skip at work (I love that skip), just so they don't feck up my own pc again. ARG !! I really, really hate fixing PCs.

My neighbour across the road is just the same as he spent 20 years as a car mechanic and absolutely hates fixing cars.
Kam.

Comments

• laidbackfreaklaidbackfreak Member Posts: 991
    Kaminsky wrote: »
    It's soooo annoying what you lose when this happens... .

Yep and how many times do you say I will start backing up when your up and running again.

I got out of pc's a few years back now and am glad I did. I've managed to get rid of all the people who used to ask me to fix there problems too so thats a bonus.
    Aside from begrudingly fixing (or not as the case maybe) the mrs laptop I stay well away.

I'm happy indulging my passion for IT in my own way without the need\desire to support everyone else.