Powershell script to change case

dalesdales Member Posts: 225
Hi all,

I've got a bit of an issue I'm trying to figure my way around but think I will need your assistance. I started learning powershell yesturday for our virtualcenter and really like it. Today someone comes to me with a problem which I think can be fixed with powershell but a bit of expert advice wouldn't go amiss.

We have a text file that is sent to us every day with certain details in it, the text file comes from an online app which allows you to type results in upper and lower case, only thing is typing results in lower case means importing the file into the relevant app crash. We have no control over said online app so we gotta figure a way of changing the text inside the file to upper case and preferrably only apply it to a certain set of charecters in eachs line, although I'm just trying to figure out how to change the case globally at the moment before worrying about that.

At the mo I have:

$a = get-content "test.txt"
$a = $a.ToUpper()

from what I have read it should work but it is not changing the case when I look at the content by echo $a.
Also do I have to script a save file or something at the end?

Sorry I am googling this as well but at the moment would like a bit of advice regarding my actual query rather than what I have found so far.

thanks in advance!
Kind Regards
Dale Scriven

Twitter:dscriven
Blog: vhorizon.co.uk

Comments

• dalesdales Member Posts: 225
    Ah right if I do this then I get the whole file changed to upper.

$a = get-content "test.txt"
    ( "$a" ).ToUpper()
    Kind Regards
    Dale Scriven

• HeroPsychoHeroPsycho Inactive Imported Users Posts: 1,940
    Yeah, you should need to save the file at the end. Have you already completed that?
    Good luck to all!
    Yes managed that ok

script now looks like this:

$a = "c:\documents and settings\user\desktop"
    $b = get-content "$a\test.txt"
    ( "$b" ).ToUpper() | out-file -filepath "$a\new.txt"