Network Security Engineers/Techs/Admins

Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
I decided to put this thread in here instead of the InfoSec location due to the fact that I think I will get wider responses here. I was having a discussion with a friend of mine and I am trying to see whether or not he is correct.

Anyway this question is for all Network Security Engineers/Techs/Admins etc. I would like to know a couple of things about you.

A: How long you have been working in the field (IT)
B: How long have you been working in InfoSec?
C: What InfoSec certs you have?
D: How did you get into InfoSec?

Thanks,

knwminus

Comments

• L0gicB0mb508L0gicB0mb508 Member Posts: 538
    A. Total time is about 6-7 years in the field. I worked as a computer tech when I was just graduating high school, moved on to a systems administrator role (where I got my first taste of security). Worked at various places with differing roles after that.

B. Full time Infosec has been about 7 months. Most positions I have had dealt with infosec in one way or another. I had all ready gained experience with Cisco PIX/ASA, several other hardware/software firewalls, IDS, patch management, network traffic anlysis, security testing, and some computer forensics.

C. The only true infosec cert i have is Sec+. I am working on GCIA and OSCP though.

D. Experience got me where I am. I was initially hired to be a Cisco systems engineer until someone else saw my resume. They told the company to hire me to do infosec, and here I am.
    I bring nothing useful to the table...
  • GAngelGAngel Member Posts: 708 ■■■■□□□□□□
    A: How long you have been working in the field (IT) 9 years or so
    B: How long have you been working in InfoSec? 7 years it just never had a fancy name.
    C: What InfoSec certs you have? Of the most popular ones gpen and cissp both within the last 6 mths. Only to have them not because they would help my career in any way.