Options

Raise question

waltdeewaltdee Member Posts: 122
Hello all,

I have been a desktop support analyst for over a year now in my current company, 5 years total exp, and taking my security+ before my raise nxt month, how much should i ask for.
when one is the, the one will be the being of willing to be the one.

Comments

• Options
    MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    waltdee wrote: »
    Hello all,

I have been a desktop support analyst for over a year now in my current company, 5 years total exp, and taking my security+ before my raise nxt month, how much should i ask for.
    Personally, let them make the first offer for the raise and then counter with an amount that you would find fair. Of course, remind them that you are looking forward to discussing your progress and raise for the first year you have with them. If you don't ask about it they will likely put it off until you say something.

Many organizations have standard raise amounts that they give out year to year to most employees and cannot deviate from them, and if you are replaceable sometimes they'll use that as leverage to let you go and find someone willing to take less. Of course that is all up to how valuable you are viewed by your supervisors.
  • Options
    unsupportedunsupported Member Posts: 192
    I agree with MeanDrunkR2D2. You won't know unless you ask. To get a ballpark you may want to search jobs in your area.

Good luck with your Security+.
    -un

“We build our computer (systems) the way we build our cities: over time, without a plan, on top of ruins” - Ellen Ullman
  • Options
    NevinsNevins Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□