Options

need advice choosing my first certification

nightsky1981nightsky1981 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi all

i've been reading through some of the threads here on techexams today and have found them very useful so thank you.

i finished my computer science degree way back in 2003. straight after this i did a degree in teaching and have been a teacher ever since. i've taught computer science at a high school level but have spent most of my time teaching english. i want to get into IT and know i need to update my skills if i'm to have a chance getting a job. so my question is what's a good certification for me to take? i'm really not sure what branch of IT i want to go into. when i was doing computer science i had interest in developing apps, especially for the web.

any advice is much appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'd pick up a book on Linux, Cisco (CCENT), and Windows Server, go through those, and see what appeals to you the most, and then follow that path.

A+/Network+ are typical first-certs, but you may want to do something else depending on your interest. I don't have either of those.

Welcome to the forums :D
  • Options
    Super99Super99 Member Posts: 274
    Maybe get a Security+ cert first?
    It wouldn't be a waste becuse it never expires plus you can use it as an elective towards a MCSA or MCSE.
  • Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    hi all

i've been reading through some of the threads here on techexams today and have found them very useful so thank you.