Starting to Make Some Changes!

the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
Probably posted something like this before, but will be sticking to it this time. Slowly things have started to change in my life and it has finally hit me that I have to stop waiting for things to happen and start making them happen. Couple steps to make things happen, but a journey of a 1000 miles starts with a single step!

I funded my entire education via student loans (parents were middle class and I was an A/B student). On top of that I was dumb and used credit cards, so I get to add those to the monthly expenses. My lack of experience gets me the pay expected for someone with some certs and education.

So started a new job (one where more often then not I will get home at a standard time) and applied for a second part time job (delivering pizzas and I am about 98% sure I'll get the job). One of my concerns has been that I won't have a social life, but in reflecting on the last 7 months I haven't had one anyway! Once I get my first paycheck I will start looking into budgetting (never done it and wonder why my finances suck!). Finally, I'll start working out and focusing on certs. Hopefully, I'll stop chickening out and enlist in the Army National Guard or the Army Reserves.

I am posting here because you guys always give me solid advice and I know you'll keep on me to get my life on track! This is no resolution, it is a change of attitude for good!
WIP:
PHP
Kotlin
Intro to Discrete Math
Programming Languages
Work stuff

Comments

• twodogs62twodogs62 Member Posts: 393 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Use that 2nd job to help get credit cards paid.
    Stop using credit cards.

Maybe social has to wait til 2011. By then get credit cards paid, etc....

But, still see if you can fit some social in. Find something you like to do and make that happen at least once a week, once a month......
  • Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    Sounds like someone's been listening to Dave Ramsey!