School Question

vindicatevindicate Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have an AAS in Computer support and Networking. I graduated a couple of years ago and got a couple of years of experience in the meantime.

Right now I would like to stick to your basic tech support position but would like to move up to a system/server admin or something like that someday.

Should I go back and get my BS or will my AAS + Certs + Experience(not just my 2 years but what I will be continually gaining) be good enough?

Comments

• SrSysAdminSrSysAdmin Member Posts: 259
    Either of those would allow you to elevate to a sys admin type position. However, you will definitely reach a glass ceiling without a 4-year degree (if not more).

I would go back to school without question but I would not say that is required to be a sys admin...depends on what your individual goals are.
    Current Certifications:

* B.S. in Business Management
    * Sec+ 2008
    * MCSA

Currently Studying for:
    * 70-293 Maintaining a Server 2003 Network

Future Plans:

* 70-294 Planning a Server 2003 AD
    * 70-297 Designing a Server 2003 AD
    * 70-647 Server 2008
    * 70-649 MCSE to MCITP:EA
  • vindicatevindicate Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    JrSysAdmin wrote: »
    Either of those would allow you to elevate to a sys admin type position. However, you will definitely reach a glass ceiling without a 4-year degree (if not more).

I would go back to school without question but I would not say that is required to be a sys admin...depends on what your individual goals are.

What kind of ceiling are we talking about? Like not being a manager? no being a VP? CIO?
  • SrSysAdminSrSysAdmin Member Posts: 259
    vindicate wrote: »
    What kind of ceiling are we talking about? Like not being a manager? no being a VP? CIO?