Are we suckers?

fonestar1978fonestar1978 Banned Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
Okay, first let me say that I am a tech, I love taking on new skills and learning in general. I just read about CompTIA's decision to make their exams expire after three years effective 31/12/10. I doubt I will be taking any of their exams after that date!

Let's say I am at the point in my career where I have ten different certifications that I have earned randomly over the course of some years. So these things are expiring, take months to study for sometimes, I have to book time off work or family time to write and study.... And I am making how much as an IMAC (Install, move, add, change) technician? Twenty to thirty bucks an hour? Is this worth it?

We already work in a field where often our entire lives are dictated by our Blackberry and SLA's to meet. So on top of this stress we are expected to juggle ever expiring certifications that may or may not be relevant? And the kicker is this as I have seen once you get up there in years it gets harder to make it past the HR people sometimes. There is a perception that fifty and sixty-something techs (not admins and net admins) are not going to perform as well, or with the same drive as a younger tech. Sometimes you just can't lift is much or crawl in those spaces.

And alot of this Certification is driven by the same kind of people who are trying to sell us on Web 2.0 (Gimmick 2.0). Face it, alot of this is just the same boring old protocols with patches we had in the 70's, 80's and 90's repackaged by marketing goons to make it sound fresh and exciting. I'll get excited again when I can watch a real time three dimensional movie routed over a pure IPv6 and fibre network.

The way I see it, you have to stay focused. Get the three or four certs in your field that are actually WORTH the stress maintaining. Myself I will shoot for MCSE, CCNA, CCNP and maybe CISSP.