Options

Work, Life, Goals and everything else

lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
Dear all,

today I just wanted to share a few of my impressions and ideas that I have had lately and just want to know if I am the only person thinking like this or if there are more people that head for the same direction and maybe even have some advice.

I have been working in IT for 10 years now. I landed my first job right after (german) high school and still consider myself very lucky that it has been this way. I discovered my passion for Computers when I was about 12 and my parents got their first 386 to write letters and do business. During the first years my career has been going mostly uphill (from Junior Admin to Server Expert) and I was always striving for more money and power/responsibility. However, during the last years that has changed significantly.

At one of my 2008 job I was basically offered a small team-lead but turned it down since it didn't feel that was the right direction for me any more. I was happy with being the tech expert and not having to deal with all that management stuff. While this was probably a simple career decision (tech vs. management) I feel that my drive for IT is somehow slowing down. I think the real turning point was the death of my father that really showed me how precious life is and that there is not a single minute you can get back. I have since decided to turn my focus from work to life. My first step to do this was to ask my boss to work part time. Luckily he agreed and starting this week I work 34 hours in 4 days instead of 40 hours in 5 days.