Options

Please evaluate my "from scratch" certification path!

ekidhardtekidhardt Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi there!

I am the network admin for a small sbs03 network (40 users),(only IT guy) and I only have my A+ certification. I have lots of hands on experience, and virtually no education. My undergraduate degree is in Biology.

I have no experience with programming of any sort.

I'm going to give my resume some 'roids and am looking to learn a bunch of stuff regarding networking and administration so that I can get a better job. My current one pays me very little :)

I've done a lot of research but find it particularly hard to figure out exactly what path to take for my certifications, and I'm hoping that somebody might critique my plan. I have my A+.

My goal is to become a network administrator of some sort that makes 60+. I'll be happy with that :)

Cert 1: A+ (have it)
Cert 2: Network+ (60% done studying for this, will take it within 2 weeks)
Cert 3: Server+
Cert 4: CCENT (since it's fairly similiar to the Net+)
Cert 6: Security+ (heard this was hard?) this is to round out my resume.
Cert 7: MCITP (with some specialty)
Cert 8: MCDST (MS desktop support technician)

Then that'll complete what I think are my 'entry level' certs. Then I'll try for the harder ones, and I should have a solid foundation with the rest.

Cert 9: MCSA
Cert 10: Cisco CCNA
Cert 11: MCSE

And I think that's it.

My goal is to get certifications that employ knowledge I can use for future certs.

Am I missing anything? Would you take any additional tests?

I'm looking to have the first 8 certs within 3 months. I'm absolutely flying throughthe Net+ book I have--start to finish cert I'm aiming for 1 week or less (work week).

I would like any feedback possible! Let me know if I should change the order :)

Should I get a specialty cert? such as Exchange 03, or Server 08 etc? I'm totally fine for going for those as well.

Thank you guys!

e

Comments

• Options