ping computer1

2727 Posts: 30Member ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,
While studying using MS-PRESS 2nd edition, I came across the following command in a troubleshooting lab, in step 10 on page 5-14:

ping computer1

According to the book, it should say: Pinging computer1.domain1.local.

Unfortunately, this isn't happening.

I'm getting: Pinging computer1

and I don't want to go too far ahead if I'm missing something.

P.S. I've completed all of the previous practices/labs.

Thanks.

Comments

  • 2727 Posts: 30Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    Anybody?
  • Northbr1dgeNorthbr1dge Posts: 62Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    Need to know a bit more. I haven't read through all of the 70-291 press book, so I'm not sure how your network is set up.

    Are you running VMs, or do you have a physical lab set up? Is computer1 on the domain1.local domain? Does pinging computer1 resolve to an IP address?

    Edit: I know these are really basic questions, and you're probably all :rolleyes: with me, but I'm just knocking the easy stuff out ;)
  • 2727 Posts: 30Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    Need to know a bit more. I haven't read through all of the 70-291 press book, so I'm not sure how your network is set up.

    Are you running VMs, or do you have a physical lab set up? Is computer1 on the domain1.local domain? Does pinging computer1 resolve to an IP address?

    Edit: I know these are really basic questions, and you're probably all :rolleyes: with me, but I'm just knocking the easy stuff out ;)

    I appreciate the response and would not roll my eyes anyway.

    I'm running 2 computers that are connected via ethernet cable.

    Yes, Computer 1 is on the domain1.local domain.
    Yes, pinging Computer1 resolves to an an IP address.
  • crrussell3crrussell3 Posts: 561Member
    If you are receiving a response of Computer1 instead of Computer1.domain1.local, that means you have something incorrectly setup with DNS.

    Do an ipconfig /all and post the results.
    MCTS: Windows Vista, Configuration
    MCTS: Windows WS08 Active Directory, Configuration
  • soundsundersoundsunder Posts: 1Member ■□□□□□□□□□
    Yes, the above statement is correct. If you are getting ping computer1 and not the fully qualified domain name, you are pinging the computer most likely via Netbios broadcast and not DNS.
  • 2727 Posts: 30Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    crrussell3 wrote: »
    If you are receiving a response of Computer1 instead of Computer1.domain1.local, that means you have something incorrectly setup with DNS.

    Do an ipconfig /all and post the results.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 5.2.3790]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2003 Microsoft Corp.

    D:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd\

    D:\>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : computer1
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : domain1.local
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain1.local

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-3B-69-E6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adapter MyISP:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-02-BC-6A-D8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.117
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 11 March 2010 20:32:41
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 27 January 1904 14:04:25

    D:\>
  • Northbr1dgeNorthbr1dge Posts: 62Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    See if this works:

    -Disable Ethernet Adapter "MyISP".

    -Then set your Ethernet Adapter "Local Area Connection" DNS server to be your domain controller.

    This is just to isolate the issue, mind you. I'm sure eventually you're gonna want that outside line to your ISP up and working again, but for right now lets see what this accomplishes.

    Ninja Edit: Where are you trying to ping computer1 from? The DC?
  • 2727 Posts: 30Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    See if this works:

    -Disable Ethernet Adapter "MyISP".

    -Then set your Ethernet Adapter "Local Area Connection" DNS server to be your domain controller.

    This is just to isolate the issue, mind you. I'm sure eventually you're gonna want that outside line to your ISP up and working again, but for right now lets see what this accomplishes.

    Ninja Edit: Where are you trying to ping computer1 from? The DC?

    I'm trying to ping computer1 (the DC) from computer2 (a server).

    Here's the IPCONFIG from computer2

    Microsoft Windows [Version 5.2.3790]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2003 Microsoft Corp.

    D:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : computer2
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : domain1.local
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain1.local

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-CE-54-A8-71

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-22-B6-B0-6B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    D:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
  • snadamsnadam Posts: 2,234Member
    27 wrote: »
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 27 January 1904 14:04:25

    D:\>

    Not to alarm you, but your DHCP lease expired 106 years ago icon_cool.gif
    **** ARE FOR CHUMPS! Don't be a chump! Validate your material with certguard.com search engine

    :study: Current 2015 Goals: JNCIP-SEC JNCIS-ENT CCNA-Security
  • rage_hograge_hog Posts: 42Banned ■■□□□□□□□□
    Dont know how your going to ping anything, looks like everything you have there is on a diff subnet.
  • undomielundomiel Posts: 2,818Member
    It seems like you don't have DNS set. You'll want to configure that so that it will be able to resolve the computer name by DNS instead of netbios broadcasts. It also looks like your DC isn't pointing to itself for DNS which is something else you would want to fix.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • 2727 Posts: 30Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    rage_hog wrote: »
    Dont know how your going to ping anything, looks like everything you have there is on a diff subnet.

    Not true.

    computer2
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    computer1
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
  • rage_hograge_hog Posts: 42Banned ■■□□□□□□□□
    I must have been seeing things. cool
  • crrussell3crrussell3 Posts: 561Member
    undomiel wrote: »
    It seems like you don't have DNS set. You'll want to configure that so that it will be able to resolve the computer name by DNS instead of netbios broadcasts. It also looks like your DC isn't pointing to itself for DNS which is something else you would want to fix.

    Agreed. You haven't configured DNS on either network adapter. Make sure that both your DC and your member server point to your DC for DNS.
    MCTS: Windows Vista, Configuration
    MCTS: Windows WS08 Active Directory, Configuration
  • 2727 Posts: 30Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    crrussell3 wrote: »
    Agreed. You haven't configured DNS on either network adapter. Make sure that both your DC and your member server point to your DC for DNS.

    Have any of you actually got the MS press book please?

    While I appreciate your support, my point is that I've done everything the book has asked me to do so far but something isn't right.

    The member server is set to obtain DNS server address automatically.
  • crrussell3crrussell3 Posts: 561Member
    27 wrote: »
    Have any of you actually got the MS press book please?

    While I appreciate your support, my point is that I've done everything the book has asked me to do so far but something isn't right.

    The member server is set to obtain DNS server address automatically.

    Actually, I do have MS Press books, but not for the exam you are working on. While you have followed the directions in the lab exactly as they have them laid out, doesn't mean they are right. The books are full of errors, and you might have encountered one. Do a google search for your books errata and see what you can come up with.

    When you did a **** of the ipconfig /all, it didn't included DNS entries for the network adapter in question. Since you configured static ip address, you must also include static DNS server entries. These should point to your DC/DNS server. On your DC, it should also point to itself for DNS, by either using 127.0.0.1 or the statically assigned ip address.
    MCTS: Windows Vista, Configuration
    MCTS: Windows WS08 Active Directory, Configuration
  • undomielundomiel Posts: 2,818Member
    MS Press book or no MS Press book in the end it still comes down to how to fix the problem. I took a look over that particular chapter and noted a number of references back to chapter 4. I suggest you go and re-read chapter 4 and go through the labs in there again so that you will have a firmer grasp on DNS and NetBIOS and how it all works.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
Sign In or Register to comment.