To much reading?

JonkJonk Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
Well I am studying Myers All In One A+ book. Its a great book filled with a lot of information, and it was great to really gain a lot of knowledge in areas that I know myself I was weak in then the others. I have been working on PCs for years, so this was a great book even if I was not studying for the A+.

Anyway, in about a week and a few days I am up to chapter 19 on video. My question is, the last couple of chapters of the book are pretty long, and for instance - video - I am looking at the Exam Objectives - it really details to give the characteristics of the different monitors, differences, etc. But this chapter goes into detail of how a LCD monitor functions down to piece to piece. At this point should I start going by the objects list and pull the information I need surrounding that area?

While I enjoy reading the book, I would like to start getting more into taking practice tests, hitting the areas I need to hit harder, etc.

I should also note that it takes me longer to read through chapters because I write notes as I go along, so I have about 65-70 pages of notes so far (I find that the information stays with me if I read it, comprehend it and write it). Especially more in detail on parts that I was weak in.

What do you guys think?

Thanks
-Jon
Currently :study:: A+ (self study and in class)| Network+ | CCNA (self study and in class) | A.A.S. Network Design and Administration (Almost done!)

Comments

• rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    When studying for exams I read every page of the book. I find that even subjects I am very familiar with I almost always learn something new. That's just how I roll.
  • chmorinchmorin Member Posts: 1,446 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Sounds like it is time for you to invest in a testing program.

I personally read, highlighted, and taught an A+ study group to help me study. So I'd say it is important to read all of the material, even my 1400 Page A+ book.