Options

CCNA LAB VS. Simulator?

jrosen1987jrosen1987 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I am currently pretty new to the CISCO format, planning to take my CCNA as soon as I am ready.

I am a Linux admin, So some of the Networking is old hat to me... Just not the Cisco parts.

My question:

What would you recommend as a CCNA lab? What equipment?

Or should I just go with a simulator for the moment?

I don't have a whole lot of money to spend.

What do you think?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
    if you go simulator then look up GNS3 to get your head round.

however if you are very new to CISCO then if you can get it CISCO PACKET TRACER 5 may be a better starting place

And if you can afford some real kit then that is by far the best route. for a LAb you need

a few routers (3600 series will do the CCNA just fine)
    a few layer 3 switchs (3550's)

strictly speaking you can get away with layer 2 switchs such as 2950's for the CCNA but its nice to have some layer 3 switch's to play with as its a big part of CISCO now.

you are looking to spend about £400+ for a decent CCNA lab, but its by far nicer to work with than simulators.
    • If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough. Albert Einstein
    • An arrow can only be shot by pulling it backward. So when life is dragging you back with difficulties. It means that its going to launch you into something great. So just focus and keep aiming.
  • Options
    mgeorgemgeorge Member Posts: 774 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It always helps to get a real cisco router for practice on ios recovery, etc.. 2-3 Cisco 2610's will work just fine to familiarize yourself with the Cisco hardware.

What you cannot do with the Cisco 2600's use GNS3 for, its kinda like VMWare for Cisco routers. It emulates the hardware and you run the real Cisco IOS image on GNS3. (way better then packet tracer and other simulators).