Options

Systemax Servers - Who Uses them?

RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
Back in July I purchased two Systemax servers with SATA drives for some non-critical systems. I like them alot and they were a very good price.

What I would like to know is this:
Who else here uses or has used Systemax? I think I asked this question before but the take is a little different. We are probably going to replace our SQL Server come this fall and I would like to know what kind of apps you guys have running on them.

BTW: These are also known as SuperMicro.

Comments

• Options
    xenodamusxenodamus Member Posts: 758
    I'm a teacher and I see them in use in our school district. I don't have access to anything, of course, but I know the 2k8 DC/DHCP server and firewall on this campus are running on Systemax boxes.
    CISSP | CCNA:R&S/Security | MCSA 2003 | A+ S+ | VCP6-DTM | CCA-V CCP-V
  • Options
    I have actually found a few case studies of larger companies using them for SQL Server. These have included financial firms, etc that use load balancing and clustering. So that helps reassure me a little.

Here is what I am looking at:
    Systemax Mission Performance 5500 Intel Dual Core Xeon based Build-to-Order SAS 2U Rackmount Server at TigerDirect

Dual Quads with 24 GB RAM. I just looking at maxing the memory so that I don't have to worry about any IO. 24 GB of RAM would hold all of our DBs in RAM easily.
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    SuperMicro are okay. We don't use them at work but I'd be okay with using one. At work its all IBM or HP.
  • Options
    Thanks for the comments, guys.
  • Options
    citinerdcitinerd Member Posts: 266
    I have 2 decomissioned ones I purchased from a government surplus sale. No hard drives of course but thats not a problem. They run great have 4gb of mem on both and run some vm servers on them for practice. (Also have a crappy 1ghz compaq 1u server that I use for DHCP)
  • Options