Options

Got a new job!

forkvoidforkvoid Member Posts: 317
Finally, I got a new job. I'm an in-house IT tech doing systems and network administration, as well as various support roles for manufacturing clients in East TN. Basically, a jack of all trades position. It's about a $4200/yr increase, with a raise after 90 days and annual raises after that, plus a Blackberry and a laptop, with mileage reimbursement. I start Tuesday morning.

So stoked. I've been actively looking since September, and passively looking for two years.

My method was a bit unorthodox, so it's worth mentioning: I interviewed with the firm a few weeks ago, and was turned down. It was a toss-up between me and another guy, and they chose him. I waited a couple weeks, then sent an email that was basically a sales pitch:
<redacted>,

I have a solution to a problem you have.

You need competent staff to solve client incidents. You have already made it clear that you cannot hire another full-time staff member, but we both know that I would make an excellent addition to your team. Thus, I propose this solution:

You bring me on as a consultant, working non-standard hours, part-time or as-needed.

As you know, I work at <redacted> during the day, but I am free for nights and weekends. <redacted> and yourself have families to be with at these times, but there are still incidents to be resolved, which is where I bring value to your company.

As a consultant, I save you money by not drawing benefits and being paid only for the time I actually worked on incidents.

If this sounds like a solution you would like to explore further, please do not hesitate to call me. My cell is <redacted>.

Sincerely,

<redacted>

He called me today, complimented me on the pitch, and said he'd rather just hire me straight up, as it's easier for him. :D