Options

Newbie 70-680 Exam

georkv2georkv2 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Gents,

To give a bit of background I am about to start working to 70-680 examination, I have nearly ten years experience on IT support (7 of those being a System Administrator in a medium sized environment).

I am looking for some advice on how to go about revising for these exams and best study methods. If anyone can help me out it would be most appreciated.

Many thanks.

Comments

• Options
    ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm reading the Microsoft Press book, but I wouldn't reccomend it it's full of errors and the second chapter on deployment is horrendous, no clear explanation or step by step guidelines are given it just bombards you with jargon.

I'm going to wait until April and get the Sybex book. I have read some sample chapters and it seems to be alot clearer.
    Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "
  • Options
    krusty83ukkrusty83uk Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I must agree with Ally UK the MS press book is a painful read.

I have found the resources on this web site to be very helpful and is really getting me though the course work. I have been working with Windows 7 since beta so i guess that helps as well.

I also found the web casts that came with the MS press book to be very good aswell.

Russell
  • Options
    Dracula28Dracula28 Member Posts: 232
    I'm really surprised the training kit for 680 is as bad as it is, given how Orin Thomas is one of the co-authors, and his first MS book (the 290 training kit), is among the very best I've ever read. Before that I never really cared for who the authors were, but I knew about Orin Thomas from his pre certtutor.net (don't recall what the site was called before that) days, and he always was a thorough professional.

Perhaps MS press just rushed to get the book out as fast as possible?
    Current certs: MCP (210) MCSA (270, 290, 291 and 680) MCTS (680, 640)