Options

Worried About Finding a Job

cheebliecheeblie Member Posts: 288
I'm going to be taking the Network+ exam on Thursday, and I'm all but 100% sure that I'm going to pass. That will mean that I have A+ and Network+ certifications, which I suppose is a good start. My problem is that I'm only 19 and I have no on the job experience. I'm worried that I'm not going to be able to find a job as I have nothing to put on my resume. I seem to be stuck with the nice Catch-22 that you can't get a job unless you have experience but can't get experience without getting a job first. I know all the material from both tests, plus the experience I've gained from 17 years of computer use and maintenance. Can someone please give me some advice on how to go about getting a job in the field? I don't want to get a job at CompUSA or Best Buy, because I know I will not get any experience in network administration. Please help.

Thanks a bunch,
Cheeblie
Failed to load the poll.

Comments

• Options
    cheebliecheeblie Member Posts: 288
    Maybe I shouldn't have added a poll. I wanted someone to respond to my questions, not just take the poll. Hehe. Sorry for any confusion.
  • Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    I was also only 19 when I started and the most obvious way for those with or without certification but without experience is simply to take every job you can get, even if it feels it's way below your capabilities. Filling a resume is what we called it.
  • Options
    JamesfJamesf Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
    yo!
    well I don't have a computer Job, that's y im takein A+, and also my Brother hasn't have his A+ or networking or any other exams, in fact he is just plan smart @ computers. What I think about this whole thing is that u don't need A+ or networkin, and I just think that it looks good on the resume. And it does help getting better Jobs in the long run, but again it depends on what u r I guess