Security+ vs SSCP

divinemysticaldivinemystical Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Goodday to all,

I am a security administrator, this is my first job and I have been working about 20 months in banking industry.

I am currently planning to pursue my CISSP certification. I heard from my colleagues and forums saying that Security+ and SSCP is a foundation for CISSP Certification. Can anyone please help me to analyze both of these certificates?

I also understand that most people self studied Security+, instead of attending instructor led classes. Is that so?

On top of that, is that ok if i directly pursue CISSP instead of having go through any one of these certification?

Your advice is very much appreciated. Thank you.

Comments

• laidbackfreaklaidbackfreak Member Posts: 991
    Security+ and SSCP would both be good foundation on your path to CISSP. You can and indeed most people do these via self study.

And yes you can go straight for the CISSP but keep in mind to acheive CISSP certification you need 5 years experience. You can pass the exam and become an "associate" but you can not use the credentials of CISSP until you have acheived full certification.

hth
    if I say something that can be taken one of two ways and one of them offends, I usually mean the other one :-)
  • aethereosaethereos Member Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□

I am currently planning to pursue my CISSP certification. I heard from my colleagues and forums saying that Security+ and SSCP is a foundation for CISSP Certification. Can anyone please help me to analyze both of these certificates?

Hello,

IMHO Security+ is quite easy; you could pass it if you have the minimum recommended experience and book knowledge.

SSCP is another animal altogether. You'd need to study it and understand its testing methodologies.

To compare the two, I'd say Security+ is like taming a domesticated horse, and the SSCP is like a mustang. Definitely doable, but with practice.