Options

Subnetting - Number of Subnets Available

superman859superman859 Member Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
I recently started studying for the Net+ exam and am reading through Mike Meyers 'All In One Net+' book. I'm in the section on subnetting but came across something that didn't sit well with me.

He says the number of subnets given a network ID would be 2^n - 2 where n is the number of bits for subnet. His first example moves a /24 to a /26 address (2 bits) and only creates 2 subnets out of it. The reasoning is he states you cannot have a subnet of all 0's or all 1's, because 0 is the network ID and 1 is broadcast.

However, I don't find this to be true. My understanding is you cannot have a subnet + host ID to be all 0's or all 1's. There is a difference.

Using his logic, he eliminates an entire subnet to avoid having all 0's or all 1's, when instead it would make much more sense to eliminate a single host ID. In this example, he eliminates a subnet consisting approximately 64 machines to avoid a single situation. It would make much more sense to eliminate that one host ID that causes the issue.

Is my understanding correct? If so, how does the Net+ treat this situation? If I need 4 subnets, can it be created by using 2 bits or does it require 3?
Degrees: B.S. Computer Science, B.S. Mathematics

Certifications: Network+, Security+

In-Progress: M.S. Computer Science, CEH

Comments

• Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    For a better understanding of subnets see this thread http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccna-ccent/38772-subnetting-made-easy.html
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options
    MentholMooseMentholMoose Member Posts: 1,525 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Your concern is detailed here:
    Subnet Zero and the All-Ones Subnet [IP Addressing Services] - Cisco Systems