What should I get rid of?

kalebkspkalebksp Posts: 1,033Member ■■■■■□□□□□
Slightly different take on the ever prevalent hardware questions. I've collected a decent bunch of equipment and now my rack is becoming rather full. I use dynamips almost exclusively for the routing/security side, the only reason I keep hardware routers around is because I eventually want to learn the voice side of things.

I'm hoping some of you who are familiar with the voice side will help me figure out which of my equipment is useful and which I should toss/sell.

Equipment List:
1 x 2620XM
2 x 2610
1 x 2611
2 x MC3810
1 x 2514
1 x 2523
2 x 3640

Everything except the 3640s and MC3810s have max memory. The 2523 is my frame relay switch, so I'll be keeping that. I'm fairly certain the 2514 has no voice capabilities, so it's gone. I believe everything else has some level of voice support.

I picked up the MC3810s for cheap and don't know much about them. Here's the show ver from each:
Router#show ver
Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
IOS (tm) MC3810 Software (MC3810-IS-M), Version 12.0(7)XK1, EARLY DEPLOYMENT RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
TAC:Home:SW:IOS:Specials for info
Copyright (c) 1986-2000 by cisco Systems, Inc.
Compiled Wed 15-Mar-00 13:03 by phanguye
Image text-base: 0x00023000, data-base: 0x009B70E0

ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.0(1)XA4, EARLY DEPLOYMENT RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
ROM: MC3810 Software (MC3810-WBOOT-M), Version 12.0(1)XA4, EARLY DEPLOYMENT RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

Router uptime is 5 minutes
System returned to ROM by power-on
System image file is "flash:mc3810-is-mz.120-7.XK1.bin"

Cisco MC3810 (MPC860) processor (revision 16.00) with 28672K/4096K bytes of memory.
Processor board ID 13006130
PPC860 PowerQUICC, partnum 0x0000, version A03(0x0013)
Channelized E1, Version 1.0.
Bridging software.
X.25 software, Version 3.0.0.
Primary Rate ISDN software, Version 1.1.
MC3810 SCB board (v16.A0)
1 Multiflex T1(slot 3) RJ45 interface(v03.A0)
1 Six-Slot Analog Voice Module (v03.K0)
1    Analog FXS voice interface (v03.K0) port 1/1
1    Analog FXS voice interface (v03.K0) port 1/2
1    Analog FXS voice interface (v03.K0) port 1/3
1    Analog FXS voice interface (v05.A0) port 1/4
1 3-DSP(slot2) Voice Compression Module(v01.A0)
1 Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
2 Serial(sync/async) network interface(s)
1 Channelized E1/PRI port(s)
1 Channelized T1/PRI port(s)
256K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.
8192K bytes of processor board System flash (AMD29F016)

Router#show ver
Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
IOS (tm) MC3810 Software (MC3810-IS-M), Version 12.0(7)XK1, EARLY DEPLOYMENT RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
TAC:Home:SW:IOS:Specials for info
Copyright (c) 1986-2000 by cisco Systems, Inc.
Compiled Wed 15-Mar-00 13:03 by phanguye
Image text-base: 0x00023000, data-base: 0x009B70E0

ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 11.3(1)MA1, MAINTENANCE INTERIM SOFTWARE
ROM: MC3810 Software (MC3810-WBOOT-M), Version 11.3(1)MA1,  MAINTENANCE INTERIM SOFTWARE

Router uptime is 0 minutes
System returned to ROM by power-on
System image file is "flash:mc3810-is-mz.120-7.XK1.bin"

Cisco MC3810 (MPC860) processor (revision 06.07) with 28672K/4096K bytes of memory.
Processor board ID 09555734
PPC860 PowerQUICC, partnum 0x0000, version A03(0x0013)
Channelized E1, Version 1.0.
Bridging software.
X.25 software, Version 3.0.0.
Primary Rate ISDN software, Version 1.1.
MC3810 SCB board (v05.A0)
1 Multiflex T1(slot 3) RJ45 interface(v02.C0)
1 Six-Slot Analog Voice Module (v07.B0)
1    Analog FXS voice interface (v03.A0) port 1/1
1    Analog FXS voice interface (v03.A0) port 1/2
1    Analog FXS voice interface (v03.A0) port 1/3
1 6-DSP(slot2) Voice Compression Module(v01.K0)
1 Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
2 Serial(sync/async) network interface(s)
1 Channelized E1/PRI port(s)
1 Channelized T1/PRI port(s)
256K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.
16384K bytes of processor board System flash (INTEL28F016)

Comments

  • ciscog33kciscog33k Posts: 82Member ■■□□□□□□□□
    Those 3810s have a nice config. You should definitely keep them if you're going to do voice. The XMs are always useful too. It's expensive upgrading them to support voice though (you need carrier+pvdm+mft-t1/e1 cards). They're still overall quite useful for various things though, so personally, I'd keep the XMs.
  • kalebkspkalebksp Posts: 1,033Member ■■■■■□□□□□
    ciscog33k wrote: »
    Those 3810s have a nice config. You should definitely keep them if you're going to do voice. The XMs are always useful too. It's expensive upgrading them to support voice though (you need carrier+pvdm+mft-t1/e1 cards). They're still overall quite useful for various things though, so personally, I'd keep the XMs.

    Thanks. Good to know the 3810s aren't bad. I was thinking I would keep the XM too. Between the 2600s and 3640s I would get more space back with the 3640s but they are also capable of running newer IOS than the 2600s. Do you know which ones would be better for voice? For CCVP would I be better off keeping all of them and buying necessary voice additions?
  • mikej412mikej412 Posts: 10,090Member
    The 3640 could run an old 3.x version of CME and/or an NM-HDV with a VWIC MFT and/or a NM-2V with VIC-2FXS and/or VIC-2FXO

    The 2600s could probably be gatekeepers with the proper IOS -- or toss an NM-4A/S in one for a frame relay switch (for your data WAN cloud).

    =============================

    An MC3810-V3 can run the biggest/last MC-3810 voice IOS image -- which requires the V3's 64 meg of RAM. The IOS images are under 16 meg, so the V3's 32 meg of flash just means you can store 2 different IOS images/versions in the flash.

    The MC3810 or MV3810-V versions can have their ROMs upgraded to allow them to support the 64 Megs of memory required to run the last biggest/baddest MC3810-V3 IOS Voice images.

    I think I only have 1 MC3810-V3 -- but I did the ROM/Memory upgrade on all my other MC3810 & MC3810-V voice routers and run that last badass IOS version.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • tokhsstokhss Posts: 473Member
    ditto on keeping the 3800 and XM....I am personally making my 2650XM into a frame and pstn cloud to make things easier for me.

    throw in a nm-4t or 8a/s and a 2mft and 1mft with a aim-voice-30 module and your set!
  • pitviperpitviper CCNP:Collaboration, CCNP:R&S, CCNA:S, CCNA:V, CCNA, CCENT Posts: 1,376Member ■■■■■■■□□□
    tokhss wrote: »
    throw in a nm-4t or 8a/s and a 2mft and 1mft with a aim-voice-30 module and your set!

    Does the NM-4T actually work in the 2600XMs? It’s not listed as supported. I never actually tried it myself though.

    http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps274/products_tech_note09186a00800a93f3.shtml#topic3
    CCNP:Collaboration, CCNP:R&S, CCNA:S, CCNA:V, CCNA, CCENT
  • mikej412mikej412 Posts: 10,090Member
    pitviper wrote: »
    Does the NM-4T actually work in the 2600XMs?
    I think I remember someone (Wildfire?) posting in the past it doesn't work. It's not like the "unsupported" NM-1FE-TX that has been posted as working.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • kalebkspkalebksp Posts: 1,033Member ■■■■■□□□□□
    My 2523 (10 serial interfaces) has served me well as a frame relay switch.

    Thanks for the MC3810 info Mike, I'll have to look for ROMs and memory for mine. I guess I'll just keep everything but the 2514 and swap out the 2610s if I happen to find a good deal on something better.
  • jason_lundejason_lunde Posts: 567Member
    pitviper wrote: »
    Does the NM-4T actually work in the 2600XMs? It’s not listed as supported. I never actually tried it myself though.

    Understanding the 4-Port Sync Serial Network Module (NM-4T) - Cisco Systems

    It doesnt, I tried to run one but ended up having to get the 4A/S
  • tokhsstokhss Posts: 473Member
    Dang dude.. i was all set to getting the 4T .. ah well.. 4 or 8a/s .. so cheap these days.. might as well go with 8 !!

    thanks for the update guys..
Sign In or Register to comment.