Options

Where to from here? Cert or Career Advice

Hey All,

Ive hit that stage that im sure all new IT people get to, WHERE NEXT?

I'll give you a quick run down.
I have been working in IT for 4 years in a support/system admin role. I do all 1/2/3rd level support. I also do a fair bit of sysadmin work (Built and set-up mutliple DCs, terminal, print, file servers. Built and manage WSUS\WDS servers. The main things I dont manage are our firewalls, anything SQL, IIS, DNS and DHCP. Pretty much anything else that a "standard" company has i use and help manage. I also work with exchange but dont know a heap about it, most of my work comes through the AD extensions.

I have also passed my A+, CNA, MCP (270+290) and 4 weeks ago my CCNA :)

I have outgrown my role and am ready to take the next step but not sure where that should be. Im personally thinking a high level support role for a larger company or maybe a sys admin role. What is peoples thoughts? Would love to hear what career progression others have gone through who started of in a helpdesk and slowly built upon their knowledge?

Also something to consider is that in my current job I have the opportunity to study for around 1-2 hours day. Things are kind of quiet and my boss is more than happy for me to learn (wihtout this opportunity I dont think i would have passed my CCNA). So im also thinking that because I have this opportunity I could use the next 2-3 months to finish my MCSA and then feel much more confident going for a sys admin role. I would do my exchange and also the 291.

Do people think given that opporunity they would stay put and utilise the chance to study, or should i consider just moving on now and learning more in a new role?

It is something i need to think about but would love others feedback. I guess having the opportunity to use work and basically get paid to study is amazing and the certifications I can get could be used down the road to get a better job with more money :)