STP root port

newman555newman555 Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi! I have a little question about stp.

If you have a topology in which a switch is connected to root bridge directly and also on a another side trough several other switches and the link trough other switches is much faster (the cost to root bridge is smaller than the one on a port directly connected), what will be the root port on this switch? The one that is directly connected to root bridge or the one with smaller cost value? Thank you!

Comments

• danb83danb83 Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I am studying STP / RSTP at the moment.

The lowest cost path always wins!

The physically shortest path is not neccesarily the best.
  • newman555newman555 Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I also think that lowest cost wins, but I found somewhere that directly connected ports to root bridge become root ports, so that's why I was uncertain...
  • DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
    newman555 wrote: »
    I also think that lowest cost wins, but I found somewhere that directly connected ports to root bridge become root ports, so that's why I was uncertain...

all ports on the root switch become designated ports.

however the second switch will assing the better link as the root port.

each switch in STP only deals with its own loacl ports, it does not worry about the stat of the port at the other end.

So in this case the second switch would set its root port to the one with the lowest path cost back to the root switch. This would leave the port connected directly back to the root directly as nither a degisnated port or a root port, so it will be set to a blocking state.

So even though the other end of the link is up on the root switch, the link as a whole is effectivly down.
    • If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough. Albert Einstein