Options

Is it worth investing all this money on myself

thomas130thomas130 Member Posts: 184
Hi guys looking around the forum and other sites lately and I have noticed alot of negative stuff about getting your degree's and certs won't help you really get a job you mainly need contacts to get decent paying jobs.

At the moment I have nearly been in IT for 3 years the first job I started was doing 1st line support with added duties in the second year of a second line analyst. This job involve 1st/2nd line support for the users. Active directory and exchange administration as well doing build and keeping an up to date cmdb database.

Also in this job I completed my Hnc started my degree and attended training courses for A+ and Itil v3.

In January I started a new job that i believe would allow more experience basically hear there is no 1st, 2nd 3rd line here. At the moment we just implemented a windows environment around 1000 machine across 12 sites. I support/build the servers do the backups and do a little of cisco networking as well write shell scripts, rollouts etc.

At the moment I will complete my degree next year
The year after I will finish my post graduate in advance networking this should give my ccnp as well
The year after my masters.
I will also have the time to get my Microsoft stuff done too.

The only problem is I don't really have any contacts. I have been told they are very impressed with me and don't want to lose and they know I'm doing my CCNP and degree stuff and have been told once I finish this I would move up and be on a lot more money. However I have been promised things before that have never happen. ( not at this place just other jobs)

I could leave however I just worried that I still end up having to go for low end paying jobs. I don't mind spending all this money on myself I just worried I won't get anything out of it.

Comments

• Options
    chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□