Options

What to do?

So im 21 years old... And im currently a Electric engineer student.. I like electronics alot but i also like computers alot.

So i have few certifications, ill be getting my MCSE in the next couple months and my CCNA as well.. So i will have all of this certs:

A+, N+, S+, MCP, MCSA:S, MCSE:S, and CCNA

Right now i work as a regular help desk guy (sucks) making low money because of my school schedule was the only part time job in IT i was able to find. My question is: What should i do?

A) Focus and finish my Electric engineer degree
B) Keep going on the MS route and get the the 2008 certs (MCITP)
C) Go the cisco route and get my CCNP

im confused :)
Failed to load the poll.

Comments

• Options
    Hyper-MeHyper-Me Banned Posts: 2,059
    As far as the degree, if you are really close you should finish it out. If you arent into the electrical engineering specifics yet, consider changing it to an IT or business major. But either way, I would finish it.

The MCITP vs CCNP thing will have to be a personal choice. Decide what you want to do and go after it.

Also, while you may not be able to work a full time schedule thats required for some IT jobs, that doesnt mean you cant ask for more responsibility at work. Tell them about your higher level certifications and how you want to, at the very least, observe some of these technologies in action and if possible help the teams that manage them.
  • Options
    SupermiguelSupermiguel Member Posts: 122
    Hyper-Me wrote: »
    As far as the degree, if you are really close you should finish it out. If you arent into the electrical engineering specifics yet, consider changing it to an IT or business major. But either way, I would finish it.

The MCITP vs CCNP thing will have to be a personal choice. Decide what you want to do and go after it.