Options

Inquiring Suggestions on Career path while unemployed, please help!

FHERNANDEZFHERNANDEZ Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone, I am new to this site and I see there are many knowledgeable and helpful IT professionals here.

The reason for this post is because I would like to ask you all for your opinion on my career path as I am currently unemployed; unfortunately like many I was downsized after 7 years on the job.

I have a Associates Degree in Information Systems from a technical school.
I have 7 years on the job experience, where I held roles as Technical Project Lead (last 3 years), QA Analyst (3 Years) and Desktop Support (1 year.

My main goal is to gain a position as an IT Project Manager.
The issues I have in finding PM employment is the lack of PMP certification or "managerial title" experience in order to obtain that type of role.

Certification I have been researching for in Project Management is the PMP certification; but I do not have the prerequisites to take the test that I thought I originally had.
If you have a Bachelor's Degree, is 3 years experience minimum.....
But since I have an Associates degree. It is 5 years experience minimum.

Also I am currently not interested in an IT Technical role unless it is in a Technical Lead role where I can get paid minimum of 60k/yr but I feel I may lack on IT certifications to compete in this extremely tough job market for a lead role, what do you guys think?

Other IT certifications that I might be able to take are
CCNA or Microsoft Certifications but I do not know which ones to concentrate on.
I do not believe an A+ Certification would do much help since I am currently not looking for an entry level Computer technical position.

Any suggestions you can offer would be greatly appreciated, I just want to use my time off from the workforce in the best way possible, like getting certifications or making myself more marketable.