Options

Need advice on the best certification to start?

keeranbrikeeranbri Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I am kind of having a hardtime figuring out what to do as far as IT, I do want to work in IT but I figure the only way to start at the entry level or at the bottom is help desk support. I currently have my Bachelors in technology management with a concentration in computer networking, but while I was in school I did not get any experience or any of that internship jobs because I have already had a full time job working in a call center doing collections. I live in the suburbs of chicago........

For some reason, I don't know if anyone has felt this way..but I feel like I graduated but did not even learn anything..it is because I did not get any real life experience or on the job experience? I feel like i'm selling myself short..and wasting my degree. I want to at least start somewhere...

Should I start studying for the A+ exam..or study for MCDST? Which certifications will more likely get me in the door..you think? Any advice from you professionals would be awesome.

Comments

• Options
    phoeneousphoeneous Member Posts: 2,333 ■■■■■■■□□□
    What exactly do you want to do?
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Your degree and call center experience will probably get you in the door. One of the skills some call center people lack is the skill of customer service, how to talk to the customer. That may get you in the door. the MCDST may advance you faster at that role and getting higher certs for whatever direction you choose to go in IT will get you out of that role and into something better.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options