What's the difference?

notgoing2failnotgoing2fail Member Posts: 1,138
Not sure where this question goes so I'll post it here.

What's the difference between a router having switch capabilities like an 1811 or any router with a switch module versus a L3 switch with routing capabilities?

Other than the obvious that a switch has more ports....

Comments

• CiskHoCiskHo Member Posts: 188
    I'm not 100% sure... but I would guess that an L3 switch would be more efficient (faster) at switching frames than a router with switching module would be, and vice-versa in regards to routing packets. I would think it just comes down to what the hardware was designed to do. As far as features go I am unaware of any notable differences but I'm no expert.
    My Lab Gear:
    2811(+SW/POE/ABGwifi/DOCSIS) - 3560G-24-EI - 3550-12G - 3550POE - (2) 2950G-24 - 7206VXR - 2651XM - (2) 2611XM - 1760 - (2) CP-7940G - ESXi Server

Just Finished: RHCT (1/8/11) and CCNA:S (Fall 2010)
    Prepping For: VCP and CCNP SWITCH, ROUTE, TSHOOT
  • mikem2temikem2te Member Posts: 407
    CiskHo wrote: »
    I'm not 100% sure... but I would guess that an L3 switch would be more efficient (faster) at switching frames than a router with switching module would be, and vice-versa in regards to routing packets. I would think it just comes down to what the hardware was designed to do. As far as features go I am unaware of any notable differences but I'm no expert.
    I think you are right. I believe the switchports will forward traffic at wire speed if the communicating ports are on the same VLAN. If traffic is passing between two VLANs then the packets hit the routers processor and therefore performance will suffer.

In a layer 3 switch all frames are switched in the ASICs so inter vlan frames should get switched at wire speed.