Cisco Networking Academy

sonic99sonic99 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, just recently found this forum doing some research on what equipment I should buy for my CCNA studies and wanted to ask what some people thought of this course.

A quick background on me. Most of my computer knowledge is self taught. I went to a one year "computer school" a couple of years ago thinking it would help me find a job since self taught experience means nothing on a resume. Ended up being a waste of money, but that is in the past.

I eventually found a job working as a consultant for a very small computer company here in Northern NJ. I mostly did on-site support and server installs/builds. None of our customers were really big enough for an advanced network. Most of my experience is with Microsoft Server technology.

I took 2 months worth of Cisco classes at that computer school and enjoyed it, but since I never got to use this stuff in the real world, I forgot everything I had learned. I got laid off from work last December and haven't had any luck finding a job. I figure since I have tons of free time I would attempt to work towards getting my CCNA and hopefully start a career in Networking.

I saw the local community college offers the Academy and thought about enrolling(they are starting semester 3 in the summer, so I assume I would have to wait until semester 1 to enroll, correct?)

Anyway, I'm basically wondering if this course is really worth the 1+ years and $3500 it is going to cost me to take it. I know I could probably learn most of this on my own if I REALLY pushed myself, but....

My biggest fear is that I will take this course and employers will still not hire me because of my lack of real world experience.

Comments

• notgoing2failnotgoing2fail Member Posts: 1,138
    You said you enjoyed Cisco for 2 months when you were learning it. So how well did you learn it?

Do you think you can pick yourself up from those 2 months and get back into the swing of things?