Options

mcafee EPo problem, please help!

waltdeewaltdee Member Posts: 122
Hello,

I'm a desktop support technician trying to work with the server team to figure out what is causing this issue. I'll expain as detailed as i can.
Objective: to deploy Mcafee ePO agent to 150 pc's of diferent models, from t60's to t61's to t400's.
Problem: the progress is stuck on 17 pc's that cannot be communicated from the ePO server. When i ping any of these 17 pc's by host name, the request gets timed out, and the host name resolves to some IP address that doesnt match the IP of the pc. Thats issue one. If i ping the IP address, it works fine, i get a reply. But even when the server guys try to push out the agent by IP, the server cannot see \\hostname\c$ , says is not accessible hence cannot continue. I have manually upgraded these pc's to the latest mcafee version, added all the appropriate groups, basecally tried to make mirror the rest of the 100+ that worked. If anyone has any idea what causes the ePO server not to communicate with the host, please let me know.

Thank you.
when one is the, the one will be the being of willing to be the one.

Comments

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    This sounds like a DNS issue to me. Have you done IPCONFIG /registerdns on these PCs?
  • Options
    This sounds like a DNS issue to me. Have you done IPCONFIG /registerdns on these PCs?

Yes, i have. I've done /flushdns and /registerdns but that doesnt seem to work.
    One of the server guys even suggested changing the IRPStackSize in the registry which should fix the mapping of the \\hostname\c$. It's funny b/c when i rstarted the pc after making the change, i was able to map to that hostname, but all of a sudden got the message back saying not accessible. sooo weird
  • Options
    astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    waltdee wrote: »