SSCP Exam Reaction

VoxOrionVoxOrion Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Greetings all,

I took the SSCP exam this past Saturday. Since there is so little info about the SSCP out there, I thought I'd post some of my reactions. I'm cautiously optimistic in terms of my performance. I wouldn't be shocked if I failed, but I think I did okay.

The exam taking process itself was as professional and thorough as one would expect. There were 46 individuals taking exams. It looks as though there was supposed to be three SSCP test takers, but only two were present. The rest of the group was CISSP, save for two or three others.

I used the ISC2 SSCP Exam Guide (one of the sloppiest manuals I have ever read - proofreading mistakes, very poor organization of data - very unprofessional), CISSP All-In-One 5th Ed, Pearson's SSCP flash cards, some portions of the CISSP DVD training, FreePracticeTests, and a number of other references/documents. I studied for a good 200 hours. A few hours a week for months, then dedicated structured study for the past month (3-4 hours a day, longer on weekends).

As for the exam itself, I'm very disappointed. I strongly question the reputation that SSCP is somehow "more" technical. I can't say more without risk of violating the confidentiality I agreed to.

I regret not putting the time into CISSP instead. Whether I pass or not, I wouldn't recommend expending the energy on SSCP unless the tester cannot qualify for CISSP for one reason or another.

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Thanks for the review. What do you do that qualified you to be able to take the test?
  • VoxOrionVoxOrion Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the review. What do you do that qualified you to be able to take the test?