Options

Job 1 vs. Job 2

xenodamusxenodamus Member Posts: 758
Job 1:

Small 65 bed hospital located 10 minutes away from my home. They have a 3 man IT dept. and are looking to add a 4th. I was told the new hire would do alot a server administration (alot being relative to the 10 servers this hospitals runs) on several different platforms (2k3, 2k8, linux, SCO)with other varied roles thrown in. I have limited server experience so this would be good for me. They also have alot of new construction going on, so this 4 man team would be implementing VoIP, the hospital's first vmware server, new medical equipment, automatic badge scan doors, some server to run the cable tv's??, etc, etc. So, there's alot of exciting stuff going on there....but given the size of the hospital I'm assuming there's not alot of room to move up in the organization.

Job 2:

Large 535 bed hospital located 40 minutes from my home looking for a desktop support tech. The job role wouldn't be too glamorous starting out I'm sure, but this is a much bigger organization with much more room to move up.

I haven't talked about salary with either organization, but chances are the large hospital will probably pay the same for the desktop tech position as the small one will for the admin. So, assuming pay and benefits were the same would you take Job 1 for the immediate experience with new technologies, or Job 2 for the growing room?

As a side note, I'm studying for my CCNA and really wanted to steer toward networking long term, but I feel like either of these could help me get where I want to go.

Edit to try and add a poll....I don't see the option after posting through icon_sad.gif
CISSP | CCNA:R&S/Security | MCSA 2003 | A+ S+ | VCP6-DTM | CCA-V CCP-V

Comments

• Options
    RouteThisWayRouteThisWay Member Posts: 514
    Interview for both, see what offers you get. Don't count your chickens before they hatch.