Options

Not sure how to put this on my resume...

Dryst999Dryst999 Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
So I met with a recruiter today that wants to submit me to a large financial corporation for an open IT support position, the salary is about double of what I would be making now and it's a permanent hire position.. the recruiter is basically just getting a finders fee.

He wants me to redo my resume, we talked for about an hour today and he said that my resume looks like i'm not that experienced when I obviously am after talking to me. On my resume I have all the technical skills listed, but for work experience i've only have my current help desk job that i've been at for 7 months. Most of my experience comes from playing around in my home labs and back in college I use to do freelance work such as your basic home computer repair, small office setups etc and I also use to build computers cheaply from discount retailers then resell them for a profit on ebay.

He wants me to put this on my resume. I'm worried about putting "Independent contractor" or something on their though under experience b/c all these jobs were paid under the table, I never filed any taxes or anything... I would just advertise on craigslist and word of mouth, come fix your computer, you pay me $30-50 and i'd go on my way. I mean I guess this stuff does count as experience... but how in the world is a company going to verify that outside of taking my word for it.

Comments

• Options
    Paul BozPaul Boz Member Posts: 2,620 ■■■■■■■■□□
    They won't. If you say that you're an independent consultant all they can do is call your customer base.

Listen to the recruiter. Just because you weren't getting a legit pay check doesn't mean you weren't working and getting experience.
    CCNP | CCIP | CCDP | CCNA, CCDA
    CCNA Security | GSEC |GCFW | GCIH | GCIA
    pbosworth@gmail.com
    http://twitter.com/paul_bosworth
    Blog: http://www.infosiege.net/
  • Options