Options

CCNA Wireless Certification

teksource1984teksource1984 Member Posts: 100
Hello Fellas,

I'm new to the Cisco field of networking. I studied for the CCENT and did not like it. I felt like I was forcing myself to study for it. That's why I couldn't really progress any further.

However, I really do like learning about wireless technologies and feel that it will have a more dominant share of the market in the future.

If I pursue a CCNA Wireless certification, what job opportunities are available for someone?

Also, can a CCNA Wireless be used as an alternative for a regular CCNA?

Please help me, I really look forward to your comments and thoughts.

Comments

• Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Hello Fellas,

I'm new to the Cisco field of networking. I studied for the CCENT and did not like it.

This is going to be a problem. The CCENT (and the CCNA) is needed for all of the Associate and Pro level certifications so getting over the hump is going to be step one. I do know what you mean. Sometimes it can be dry but it is doable.

If I pursue a CCNA Wireless certification, what job opportunities are available for someone?

In my area, a lot of the Wireless jobs require the CWNA and CWSP (rather than than the CCNA:W) this could be due to the fact that the CCNA:Wireless may not be as well known as the previously mentioned certs. Also it seems that alot of the positions want very high level knowledge or wireless and cell technologies. I suggest that you run a dice search or a indeed search of wireless network engineering jobs around your area and see what they are asking for.
    Also, can a CCNA Wireless be used as an alternative for a regular CCNA?

No. You need the CCNA to get the CCNA:Wireless.
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■