confused on my SQL 2005 database training

jojopramosjojopramos Member Posts: 415
I decided to pursue the training for 2570B - Maintaining SQL 2005 Database training even though I am handling mostly network infrastructure because part of my job is assuring that sql databases are backed up and secure. This is my second day and im already confused and lost on some topic especially scripting (i have no experience on this field) and most SQL terminologies (intergration/reporting). My job is just to make sure that the databases can be backup/restore, monitoring, and in case of the disaster, DRP should be in place. I hope I can cope up with this training. I dont have plan to implement SQL's, my especialty lies on Infra and Messaging (yeah I need to study pwershell soon for exchange 2010). Do you think that it is right that I did this training?

Comments

• RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Yes. When I first started with SQL Server my training and past experience was mostly with infrastructure and it took me a while to really understand some of the concepts.

You should check out the following resources to help you.
    1. http://www.techexams.net/forums/sql-server-2000-2005-exams/52826-mcitp-dba-2008-resources.html The first two books I list are essential reading for you. Pay special attention to the final section "Opperations" in the SQL Server Administration in Action book.
    2. SQL Server PowerShell Extensions These are a set of PowerShell modules that make managing SQL Server a snap with PowerShell.

If you are currently in charge of ensuring SQL server instances are being properly backed up and maintained, that is where I would start. Make sure you can do all of that without even having to think about it.
  • jojopramosjojopramos Member Posts: 415