VMWare Workstation Help

ep_ricablancajrep_ricablancajr Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I'm very new to this vmware workstation 7 and need your help on how to create a LAN using this.I installed this on my laptop.

Currently I created a team with 2 virtual machine. I want to practice DNS infrastructure using vmware.

Hopefully you guys can help me out.

Thanks

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If I remember correctly after you create your team you edit team settings and check VLAN1 for both. That's all Ive done to mine and it has been working fine for me so far.
    Which exam are you stuying for?
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • RTmarcRTmarc Member Posts: 1,082 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You can team them together and place on the same vlan as mentioned or you can connect them to one of the arbitrary vmnet nics not used for any other connection. Both will achieve what you want.
  • ep_ricablancajrep_ricablancajr Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Actually I'm just doing self study. will this work on 1 physical laptop?
    1 team with 2 virtual machine.
  • earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Actually I'm just doing self study. will this work on 1 physical laptop?
    1 team with 2 virtual machine.
    Do you mean 1 team with 2 guests?
    If your laptop has at least 2 GB of RAM it should work fine. I have only 2 GB and I can run 3 guests but I have to run it with more swapping as the memory bottlenecks.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
    yes,

i have installed the vmware workstation on 1 physical laptop since i only have one. I created 1 team with two virtual machine.

however i can't network the virtual machines.
    don't seem to know what's the problem

i'm very new to this
    Hi

I managed to connect my vmware team with each other.I can ping the 3 guests with each other.