Contractor job what to wear?

wweboywweboy Member Posts: 287 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I have a job interview with a company though a contracting company. I'll be talking with the person hiring me for their company. Typically I wear a suit and tie but I feel it might be over kill I'm think of just khaki's and a shirt tie drop the suit.

Does this sound good? I've never worked though a contracting company before and I don't want to go overboard. I'm excited none the less!

Thanks everyone.

Comments

• DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    wweboy wrote: »
    Hi everyone,

I have a job interview with a company though a contracting company. I'll be talking with the person hiring me for their company. Typically I wear a suit and tie but I feel it might be over kill I'm think of just khaki's and a shirt tie drop the suit.

Does this sound good? I've never worked though a contracting company before and I don't want to go overboard. I'm excited none the less!

Thanks everyone.

I wore a suit and tie for both my contracting interview and the job interview. The only time I didn't is when the person told me ahead of time to wear something nice and suggested a shirt and tie with some kahki's. I determined that since I was told to wear khaki's that going above and beyond with a suit would be too much.

If there is ever a doubt, there is nothing to loose from looking too good.

EDIT: And yes, sometimes I find that I'm sitting in a lobby way over dressed compared to the people around, but that isn't a problem. Just brownie points for me I hope. You get some nice looks too. I walked into one place and the receptionist nearly melted when she said hi.
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I'd go suit for sure. Its your first impression with this company and you want to leave as good of one as possible.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.