Help with certification

SwanySwany Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently a junior in college and I am looking to be a system administrator of something related when I finish school in 2011. I do have some experience in servers. Is the MCSA a good certification for me to get? If not what certification do you suggest I get to make myself more marketable when I get done with school?

Comments

• peanutnogginpeanutnoggin Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Are you majoring in an IT field? If so, then going straight into the MCSA/MCSE track would be useful. If I were you (and I majored in the IT field), then yes, I would take that route. However, if you're majoring in a non-IT field, I would suggest you start off with some of the CompTIA certs (A+, Net+, Sec+). That's just my opinion... some may differ! I hope this helps...

-Peanut
    We cannot have a superior democracy with an inferior education system!

-Mayor Cory Booker
  • SwanySwany Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I am majoring in I/O psychology and I am getting a minor in Management Information Systems. I eventually want to do IT project management hence the major in I/O but I also want to have that tech background hence the MIS. Thanks for the info!
  • Jonny70Jonny70 Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Are you already doing sys admin work? While certifications will be a good way to increase your market value its important to pair them with real world experience. Getting an internship or job now will help you increase you market value when you leave college.
  • Echo_7Echo_7 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    As Peanut suggested, if you have no certifications what's so ever, the first step should be CompTIA A+, Network+ and Security+.
    Second, start with MCSA/MCSE and work your way up as you will need either A+ and Network+ or Security+ in combination with 270, 290, and 291 to be certified as MCSA.

-Echo 7-
  • netBoogernetBooger Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□