Options

Quick Question

AJJ28AJJ28 Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
Is it safe to assume that two PCs that have IP addresses of 10.10.10.10 and 10.10.10.11 and are on the same subnet 255.255.255.0 have the same default gateway?

I would have thought that the subnet would use the same gateway is that unreasonable? Is it common to have more than 1 gateway.

I am studying for 70-620 and the question said one IP could ping a remote address and another couldn't. So I assumed that as they were co-workers and on the same subnet if one could ping the default gateway wasn't the problem for the other as it would pass through the same one.

But the answer was to change the default gateway address. I am probably wrong but that is the type of question that drives me around the bend. But again I am probably wrong as these Microsoft tests have a way of making you feel dumb

Comments

• Options
    MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Is it safe to assume that two PCs that have IP addresses of 10.10.10.10 and 10.10.10.11 and are on the same subnet 255.255.255.0 have the same default gateway?

Generally, yes this is safe to assume. However, that doesn't mean that it can't happen.

I would have thought that the subnet would use the same gateway is that unreasonable?

Generally, yes this is safe to assume. However, that doesn't mean that it can't happen.

Is it common to have more than 1 gateway.

It is common in large environments to have more than 1 gateway. But not usually on the same subnet.

I am studying for 70-620 and the question said one IP could ping a remote address and another couldn't. So I assumed that as they were co-workers and on the same subnet if one could ping the default gateway wasn't the problem for the other as it would pass through the same one.