Collision and Broadcast Domains

Darian929Darian929 Member Posts: 197
So here I am studying for my CCENT full time, to go onto CCNA later. Im watching the CBT Nuggets video which are great and I saw this video on how switching works and it talks about Collision and Broadcast DOmains and this is where I am sort of tipsy on. So I want to see if Im on the right track. A collision domain on a switch is seperated by each connection from one pc to a switch port... so in a switch there are different number of collision domains depending on how many PC's are connected to that switch? Am i correct or im understand it wrong? While on a hub there's only one, because since a hub doesn't work with MAC addresses, it will retransmit the packets to every port, forcing the PC's to listen and send one at a time.

Now for broadcast domains, this is depending on how many switches/hubs you have on your network correct? So if I have 2 switches connected to one router, and 10 pc's on each switch, I would have 2 broadcast domains...? Help me if I am complicating myself.

Comments

• mariocmarioc Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    You are absolutely correct. Each port on a switch creates a collision domain. Each physical switch creates one broadcast domain. In a layer 3 switch multiple broadcast domains can be created by creating VLANs.
  • logicmyfootlogicmyfoot Member Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Think of a collision domain like. How many PC can transmit data together.
    In a switch every PC connected can transmit simultaneously as switches work on FULL DUPLEX however a Hub operates in HALF DUPLEX hence only 1 PC can transmit or receive at any given time , so only 1 collision domain exists.
  • alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    marioc wrote: »
    Each physical switch creates one broadcast domain.