Options

Job change

coffeekingcoffeeking Member Posts: 305 ■■■■□□□□□□
I currently work as an information security officer where I do get to do some tech stuff; mainly in AD and DB security areas. I have an offer to move into IT audit; they are looking for an internal auditor with security background. Although not yet decided but from the looks of it the pay raise could be anywhere 30-50%.

I am only concerned with the fact that I won't be able to get hands on experience on devices, not that I do in this job but there is opportunity available to get some Cisco experience in future.

My long term goal is to end up in information security management.

My my goal, this opportunity sounds pretty good since it gives you a good insight into management as well/

My question, what would you do in this situation, would you take it up?

Comments

• Options
    imfrom51imfrom51 Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I had been on the technical side for a number of years, when a job in Information Security came my way. I took the job and have not looked back. I love it. I am sure some of that has to do with my workmate, but nonetheless, it's great. I don't do to much technical work anymore, but my knowledge in that area has really paid off. Especially when meeting with I.T, vendors etc. I have learned about NIST, ISO, HIPAA (I am in Health care), which is invaluable in this day and age. If you love the technical side, and couldn't live without it, then you might want to look someplace else. Otherwise, go for it. It can't hurt. My duties include, audits, investigations, Threat analysis and detection, policy and procedure writing, training and education and then some.