Options

Bgp?

MonkerzMonkerz Member Posts: 842
I work for a rather large enterprise. Our data center is located in Memphis, TN. I work as an on site tech at one of the manufacturing facilities 150 miles away. From my location, we have another manufacturing facility about 10 miles away. One location has a DS3 P2P to the data center and the other location has 2 T1 P2Ps to the Data Center. Users from these two locations often require access to the resources of the other, but are experiencing delays when attempting to access the other site. This has happened since I started working for them 3 years ago.

Our network engineer and I have talked about the possiblity of another P2P to connect the sites directly to remove the data center from the mix, thus removing the round robin effect. I was talking to him last night, when he brought up the idea of enabling BGP. I am currently studying for CCENT and do not know what all BGP does and how it would resolve our issue. Can someone enlighten me? I have a video conference in 4 hours, where our network engineer will be asking permission from the Director, I would like to know what all he is talking about.

Comments

• Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    I'll be frank, there's no way you're going to get a solid grasp on BGP in 4 hours.

If you're serious about learning BGP, your best bet is to pick up Internet Routing Architectures by Sam Halabi.

Without knowing the layout of your network, it's hard to say whether this is a good solution. If you're not running BGP with your service providers already, then enabling BGP for a point to point link of two directly connected sites is..... overkill to say the least.
  • Options
    ColbyGColbyG Member Posts: 1,264
    ^ what he said

Give us some more details.
  • Options
    So I need to pick up that book. I know I will get to BGP eventually in my studies, but have not reached that point as of yet.