Options

Studying for Sec+

JRZ80JRZ80 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am studying for the Sec+ exam, can anyone give me some advice about taking it? I haven't set up an exam date yet as I am just getting back to studying for it after a year hiatus. I bought the Exam Cram book, I have the Kaplan self test software, and I am thinking about getting the CBT Nuggets for it (how helpful are they?).

Is there anything else I should look into getting?

Also on average, how long did it take to study for it the exam? Im looking at taking the entire summer if need be.

Comments

• Options
    nicklauscombsnicklauscombs Member Posts: 885
    i'll suggest it and plenty of others will too.

GET THIS BOOK! hands down the best study source i used for the exam.

Amazon.com: CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-201 Study Guide (9781439236369): Darril Gibson: Books
    WIP: IPS exam
  • Options
    redline5thredline5th Member Posts: 119
    Yeah, I gotta say, that book is pretty awesome. It helped tremendously with my pass.
    WGU - Bachelors in Information Technology

“The liberty of speaking and writing guards our other liberties.” -- Thomas Jefferson
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you can afford it get Labsim/testout. Has video training and practice test questions. It helped me. A lot of people at WGU have been using just Labsim for Sec+ and scoring in the high 800's.
    I doubt it should take you that long. Depends on how many hrs/week you put into it.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options
    timespacetimespace Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
  • Options
    TheMechanicTheMechanic Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Trainsignal ftw
    Needs 100K
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□