Options

Multiple Job offers Pros/Cons

luckybobluckybob Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am in the process of relocating and searching for a new job. I currently have 2 prospects that I am having a hard time deciding, although I am leaning towards one more than the other.

1. Enterprise lvl Senior Virtualization Engineer - Large Company
• Pros
- ~$30k more a year
- Specialized job responsibilities (I am in charge of everything now; network, servers, voip, san, vmware, bkup, you name it)
- Large environment (~1100 servers), bigger IT shop
- Opportunity to move within the IT department to Networking, SAN, etc. if I get bored
- Fortune 500 - 5billion/yr (10billion in the next 5 years)
• Cons
- Commute, roughly 1hr 20 mins
- I have never worked for such a large company before
- High stress

2. Senior lvl Network/Server Administrator – Medium Company
• Pros
- ~$30k more a year
- Medium environment, smaller IT shop
- Shorter commute (20-30 mins)
- Possibly less hectic
• Cons
- 6 month contract to hire
- No room to move in the company
- Same responsibilities I have now

I am leaning more towards the 1st position for the experience and great opportunity it provides, but with money being within $5k/yr the shorter commute is appealing.

Does anyone have advice or experience with either they would like to share to help me make the best decision?

I should also mention I am a family man, 2 kids now and hopefully one more within the next year.

Comments

• Options
    ColbyGColbyG Member Posts: 1,264
    I'd never want that long of a commute, so I'd take the second job.

If you're okay with the commute though, take the first. It will probably be less fun and you'll deal with more bullshit, but it will look a lot better on your resume and theoretically help your career.
  • Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□