Sec + - What's next?

awg0681awg0681 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone!

I am new to actually posting on the TE forums though I have been lurking and getting a lot of good information since a little before I took and passed my Network+ cert about a month ago. Anyway, I am about to take and pass (positive thinking!) Security+ tomorrow (06/17/2010). I was just wondering what would be a good next step to take.

Here is my situation. I am an IT newbie and have no professional IT experience, just what I've done on my own (which isn't bad mind you, but still not pro experience). I am looking to transition into the IT field. I started applying for low-level IT jobs after I passed Network+, but so far haven't had any bites. I do not have a completel BS or BA due to... well... life happening. Where's a good place to start and what certifications should I start looking towards next? I'm already looking at jobs on dice and other boards. Thanks in advance for all your help.

Comments

• MikeStahleMikeStahle Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Since you are new the IT world, I would start in a help desk job. A network+ (which I have) is good, most companies would not hire you directly into something like that without some direct experience. I work for a DoD contractor, and have my Sec+ and should be completing my CISSP this year. We hire people all the time with a minimum of Sec+, and can pass a background check and receive a secret clearance. You might want to check out Usajobs.gov for a gov't position. Or Dice, which posts quite a few Dod contractor jobs. The market is tight right now, so it might take you some time to get a good offer. Any experience is good if you can get it, so you might need to volunteer for something right now.
  • rogue2shadowrogue2shadow Member Posts: 1,501 ■■■■■■■■□□