A Good step after Sec+?

awg0681awg0681 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone!

I am new to actually posting on the TE forums though I have been lurking and getting a lot of good information since a little before I took and passed my Network+ cert about a month ago. Anyway, I am about to take and pass (positive thinking!) Security+ tomorrow (06/17/2010). I was just wondering what would be a good next step to take.

Here is my situation. I am an IT newbie and have no professional IT experience, just what I've done on my own (which isn't bad mind you, but still not pro experience). I am looking to transition into the IT field. I started applying for low-level IT jobs after I passed Network+, but so far haven't had any bites. I do not have a complete BS or BA due to... well... life happening. Where's a good place to start and what certifications should I start looking towards next? I'm already looking at jobs on dice and other boards. My eventual plan is to attend WGU, when I can afford it, which will finish out my degree and also give me a CCNA Security. However, at the moment I'm looking for something a bit more immediate.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

P.S. I apologize for similar posts in two places, this seemed like a great place to post this question and I had already posted it elsewhere. icon_redface.gif

Comments

• ITVinceITVince Member Posts: 143