Options

How hard is the Linux+ for a daily Linux user?

abefromanabefroman Banned Posts: 278

I've been using Linux for over 10 years, but don't know ever detail they might ask on the test? How much would I have to study for this?

Comments

• Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I've been studying and using Linux a little over the past few months just to learn Linux and to get used to the CLI.
    It really depends on HOW you've been using it. Have you just been using it like the casual user or have you used a lot of cli and gotten into studying different flavors. I know of a lot of people who USE Linux but they would have as much difficulty taking the Linux+ as a casual user of Windows 7 would have taking the 70-680.
    I still consider myself a Linux newb but I've been studying it in order to at least have the knowledge eventually to take the Linux+ by going from the exam objectives. Download the objectives and read through them, that's the best measure of how prepared you might be.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options
    abefromanabefroman Banned Posts: 278
    I use it at work, and more so the CLI as opposed to the GUI, my experience is mainly limited to the RedHat type distros.
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Check on the Comptia website for more info on the Linux+ CompTIA Linux+ and download the objectives
    Download Exam Objectives since your experience is with one particular distro but heavy on cli you would probably just need to explore a couple other distros and study the diffrences. You may even want to skip the Linux+ and study for the RHCE since you have so much experience with Redhat distros. You might want to check out the section of the forum
    LPI, RHCE, and SAIR - TechExams.net IT Certification Forums