Options

Advice for 'Labing it up'

thenoble06thenoble06 Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey,

Quick question for you all.

I'm just going to start studying for 70-640 and everyone I seen that has passed this exam sugests that sorting out a lab setup is the way to go.

Since I have no room (or money) for 2 or 3 physical servers and some desktop clients I'm going to have to go down the virtualisation route. Unfortunately I only have a laptop (centrino 2 2.3Ghz, 2Gb, big hdd, Win 7 Pro). Can I set up virtualisation for what I would need on that sort of laptop?

Since I'm a newb to virtualisation - any help or guidance would be great :)

Passed some exams. Failed others!

Comments

• Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I got through it using my old desktop which unfortunately is no more powerful than your laptop. Only 2 GB of RAM leaves you with some slow VMs as that's what I had.
    If possible try to see if you can upgrade to 4GB of RAM as it'll improve performance and enable you to have more VMs running at once. I did it with my 2GB and the VMs are very sluggish but I got through.
    Get VMWare Workstation (not free) or use Virtualbox (free) or Virtual PC.
    Most of the labs (if using the MS Press self paced Training Kit) you'll be able to do with what you've got. Unless you get more RAM you'll be unable to do a couple of the exercises in the book. Most labs only require 2 or 3 VMs which you can do with what you have but due to RAM limits (512MB per VM) you can't run more than 3 and that will be at a snails pace.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options
    Good stuff Earweed - I'll see if I can get a bit more RAM and go from there.

Ta for the advice

• Options
    LukeQuakeLukeQuake Member Posts: 579 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Use VirtualBox for 64-bit OS installs (provided you have a 64-bit OS to host them VMs!!) ! icon_wink.gif Virtual PC doesn't support 64-bit guests.